Louisiana House of Representatives
Civil Law & Procedure Committee  

Committee Staff

Select Another Cmte

Committee Member Addresses
Committee Rules  
Name Position District Party
Abramson, Neil C. Chairman 98 D
Landry, Nancy Vice Chair 31 R
Bouie, Joseph Member 97 D
Edwards, John Bel Member 72 D
Gaines, Randal L. Member 57 D
Garofalo, Raymond E. Member 103 R
Henry, Cameron Member 82 R
Huval, Mike Member 46 R
Jefferson, Patrick O. Member 11 D
Johnson, Mike Member 8 R
Miller, Gregory A. Member 56 R
Schexnayder, Clay Member 81 R
Williams, Alfred C. Member 61 D
Kleckley, Chuck Ex Officio 36 R
Leger, Walt III Ex Officio 91 D
House Rule 6.3.C(1) states that the Speaker and Speaker Pro Tempore of the House shall be ex officio members of all standing committees.

Civil Law & Procedure Committee Jurisdiction

To this committee shall be referred, in accordance with the rules, all legislative instruments, messages, petitions, memorials and other matters relating to the following subjects:

  • Matters encompassed by the Civil Code and Civil Code Ancillaries, including, without limitation, matters affecting persons generally, marriage, divorce and matters of family law, tutorship and curatorship, things generally, use and usufruct, servitudes, successions, donations, obligations generally, extinction of obligations, delicts and quasidelicts, matrimonial agreements, sales and leases, and prescription.
  • Code of Civil Procedure, and civil procedure generally.
  • Rules of civil law evidence.
  • Notaries public and their records.
  • Mineral Code.
  • Trust Code.
  • Questions of constitutional rights--civil.
  • Proposed amendments to the state constitution, after initial consideration in committee of subject matter, if different from Civil Law and Procedure.


Legislature    Senate    Governor


  |  (225) 342-6945  |  Facebook  |  Site Map  |  Accessibility  |  Privacy & Security  |  Box 94062  (900 North Third Street)  Baton Rouge, Louisiana  70804