Louisiana House of Representatives
Judiciary Committee  
Committee Staff

Select Another Cmte

Committee Member Addresses
Committee Rules  
Name Position District Party
Arnold, Jeffery "Jeff" Chairman 102 D
Foil, Franklin J. Vice Chair 70 R
Adams, Bryan Member 85 R
Connick, Patrick Member 84 R
Edwards, John Bel Member 72 D
Gaines, Randal L. Member 57 D
Garofalo, Raymond E. Member 103 R
Harrison, Joe Member 51 R
James, Edward C. "Ted" Member 101 D
Jefferson, Patrick O. Member 11 D
Johnson, Mike Member 8 R
Landry, Nancy Member 31 R
Leopold, Christopher J. Member 105 R
Mack, Sherman Q. Member 95 R
Moreno, Helena Member 93 D
Morris, John C. "Jay" Member 14 R
Shadoin, Robert E. Member 12 R
Thierry, Ledricka Member 40 D
Kleckley, Chuck Ex Officio 36 R
Leger, Walt III Ex Officio 91 D
House Rule 6.3.C(1) states that the Speaker and Speaker Pro Tempore of the House shall be ex officio members of all standing committees.

Judiciary Committee Jurisdiction

To this committee shall be referred, in accordance with the rules, all legislative instruments, messages, petitions, memorials and other matters relating to the following subjects:

  • All matters relating to the Supreme Court, Courts of Appeal, District Courts, Family Courts, and Juvenile Courts, matters of the jurisdiction of said courts, matters relating to judges generally, including compensation, expenses, personnel, facilities and the like, except as pertains to retirement.
  • All matters relating to Municipal and Parish Courts, Mayor's Courts and Justice of the Peace Courts.
  • All matters relating to the Attorney General, District Attorneys and prosecutors in general, including compensation, expenses, personnel, facilities and the like.
  • Law enforcement generally, including matters relating to the Department of Public Safety.
  • Sheriffs generally except matters affecting the sheriffs as ex officio tax collectors.
  • Clerks of court and records of the Courts.
  • National guard, Code of Military Justice and the Adjutant General.
  • Civil defense and disaster protection.
  • State and local government boundary lines.
  • Holidays and celebrations.
  • Regulations and sale of intoxicating liquors.
  • Miscellaneous matters not covered by other standing committees.

Legislature    Senate    Governor


  |  (225) 342-6945  |  Facebook  |  Site Map  |  Accessibility  |  Privacy & Security  |  Box 94062  (900 North Third Street)  Baton Rouge, Louisiana  70804