House Standing Committees   SEE SPECIAL COMMITTEES
Administration of Criminal Justice Insurance
Agriculture, Forestry, Aquaculture & Rural Dev Judiciary
Appropriations Labor & Industrial
Civil Law and Procedure Municipal
Commerce Natural Resources & Environment
Education Retirement
Health and Welfare Transportation
House and Governmental Affairs Ways & Means
How Committees Work  

The standing committee system of the House of Representatives is comprised of the sixteen permanent House standing committees. The committees and their specific respective subject matter jurisdictions are established by House Rules (House Rules 6.1 and 6.6). The chairman and members of each committee are appointed by the Speaker of the House (except that certain members of the Appropriations Committee are elected as provided by House Rules (House Rules 6.4).

Committee meeting scheduling differs from legislative session to the interim between sessions. This process is described in House Rule 14.20 (Committee Meeting Schedule; Session, Interim Conflicts).

During legislative session, committees are often referred to as "Morning", "Afternoon" and "Weekly" committees. House Rule 6.7 (Regular committee meetings) designates the assignment of standing committees to these categories.

Box 94062  (900 North Third Street)  Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804      Contact Your Representative      Up