Louisiana House of Representatives 
House Standing Committees See Special Committees Here
Administration of Criminal Justice Insurance
Agriculture, Forestry, Aquaculture and Rural Development Judiciary
Appropriations Labor & Industrial
Civil Law and Procedure Municipal
Commerce Natural Resources & Environment
Education Retirement
Health and Welfare Transportation
House and Governmental Affairs

Ways and Means

How Committees Work:

The standing committee system of the House of Representatives is comprised of the sixteen permanent House standing committees. The committees and their specific respective subject matter jurisdictions are established by House Rules (House Rules 6.1 and 6.6). The chairman and members of each committee are appointed by the Speaker of the House (except that certain members of the Appropriations Committee are elected as provided by House Rules (House Rule 6.4).

The activity and role of standing committees will differ during a legislative session from the interim between sessions. Please select During Legislative Session and Between Sessions for more detail


  |  (225) 342-6945  |  Facebook  |  Site Map  |  Accessibility  |  Privacy & Security  |  Box 94062  (900 North Third Street)  Baton Rouge, Louisiana  70804