Louisiana House of Representatives
Commerce Committee  
Committee Staff

Select Another Cmte

Committee Member Addresses
Committee Rules


Name Position District Party
Carmody, Thomas Chairman 6 R
Hollis, Paul Vice Chair 104 R
Anders, John F. "Andy" Member 21 D
Brown, Chad Member 60 D
Connick, Patrick Member 84 R
Coussan, Jean-Paul Member 45 R
Cox, Kenny R. Member 23 D
Glover, Cedric Member 4 D
Hilferty, Stephanie Member 94 R
Jefferson, Patrick O. Member 11 D
Jordan, Edmond Member 29 D
Leopold, Christopher J. Member 105 R
Lyons, Rodney Member 87 D
Pearson, J. Kevin Member 76 R
Pugh, Stephen E. Member 73 R
Thomas, Polly Member 80 R
Barras, Taylor F. Ex Officio 48 R
Leger, Walt III Ex Officio 91 D
House Rule 6.3.C(1) states that the Speaker and Speaker Pro Tempore of the House shall be ex officio members of all standing committees.

Commerce Committee Jurisdiction

To this committee shall be referred, in accordance with the rules, all legislative instruments, messages, petitions, memorials and other matters relating to the following subjects:

  • Commerce generally.
  • Banking and the regulation thereof.
  • Communication by telephone, telegraph, radio and television.
  • Registering and licensing of vessels and small boats.
  • Navigation and laws relating thereto.
  • Regulation of common carriers by water.
  • Consumer protection.
  • Laws relating to merchandising.
  • Regulation, licensing, or certification of occupations and professions generally, except those fields which are health related.
  • Interest rates.
  • Savings and loan and homestead associations.
  • Small loan companies.
  • Regulation and licensing of businesses and occupations.
  • Protection of trade and commerce against unlawful restraints and monopolies.
  • Corporations.
  • Tourism.