Louisiana House of Representatives
Education Committee  
Committee Staff

Select Another Cmte

Committee Member Addresses  
Committee Rules    
Name Position District Party
Landry, Nancy Chairman 31 R
Amedée, Beryl Member 51 R
Bouie, Joseph Member 97 D
Brass, Ken Member 58 D
Carter, Stephen F. Member 68 R
Edmonds, Rick Member 66 R
Emerson, Julie Member 39 R
Falconer, Reid Member 89 R
Hilferty, Stephanie Member 94 R
Leger, Walt III Member 91 D
Simon, Scott M. Member 74 R
Smith, Patricia Haynes Member 67 D
Thomas, Polly Member 80 R
Wright, Mark Member 77 R
Barras, Taylor F. Ex Officio 48 R
House Rule 6.3.C(1) states that the Speaker and Speaker Pro Tempore of the House shall be ex officio members of all standing committees.

Education Committee Jurisdiction

To this committee shall be referred, in accordance with the rules, all legislative instruments, messages, petitions, memorials and other matters relating to the following subjects:

  • Education generally.
  • Schools and secondary education.
  • School employees, administrators, teachers, bus drivers and others.
  • School employees' and teachers' pay, except where an appropriation of state funds is required.
  • Colleges and universities.
  • Employees of colleges and universities, including pay, except where an appropriation of state funds is required.
  • Vocational technical education.
  • Employees of vocational technical education schools, including pay, except, where an appropriation of state funds is required.
  • College or university agricultural extension service.
  • Adult education.
  • School lunch program.
  • Schools for the Blind.
  • Schools for the Deaf.
  • Crippled Children's Schools.
  • State and public libraries.
  • Educational television.