Louisiana House of Representatives
Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs Committee  
Committee Staff

Select Another Cmte

Committee Member Addresses
Committee Rules  

Name Position District Party
Berthelot, John A. Chairman 88 R
Huval, Mike Vice Chair 46 R
Billiot, Robert E. Member 83 D
Bouie, Joseph Member 97 D
Davis, Paula Member 69 R
Dwight, Stephen Member 35 R
Edmonds, Rick Member 66 R
Glover, Cedric Member 4 D
Hilferty, Stephanie Member 94 R
Jenkins, Sam Member 2 D
Lyons, Rodney Member 87 D
Marcelle, Denise Member 61 D
Norton, Barbara M. Member 3 D
Pugh, Stephen E. Member 73 R
Richard, Jerome Member 55 I
Smith, Patricia Haynes Member 67 D
Stagni, Joseph A. Member 92 R
White, Malinda Member 75 D
Wright, Mark Member 77 R
Barras, Taylor F. Ex Officio 48 R
Leger, Walt III Ex Officio 91 D
House Rule 6.3.C(1) states that the Speaker and Speaker Pro Tempore of the House shall be ex officio members of all standing committees.

Municipal, Parochial, & Cultural Affairs Committee Jurisdiction

To this committee shall be referred, in accordance with the rules, all legislative instruments, messages, petitions, memorials, and other matters relating to the following subjects:

  • Local and municipal affairs generally.
  • City of New Orleans affairs.
  • Police juries.
  • Municipalities.
  • Forms of local government.
  • Municipal drainage, and sewerage and water districts.
  • Technical assistance to local governments.
  • Assistance to municipal and local governments.
  • Revenue of and taxation levied by local governments.
  • Employees of local governments.
  • Expenditures by local governments.
  • Local ordinances.
  • Intergovernmental relations.
  • State planning.
  • Economic development.
  • Political subdivision industrial inducement.
  • Economic development districts.
  • Urban planning.
  • Cultural affairs generally.
  • Parks.
  • State parks and recreational districts.
  • Military parks and battlefields.
  • Museums.
  • Preservation of historic landmarks and objects.