~ACADIANA LEGISLATIVE DELEGATION~



PRESS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

ACADIANA DELEGATION HOLDS OFFICER ELECTIONS

Baton Rouge - State Representative Vincent Pierre (D-District 44) has been re-elected for a fourth consecutive time to serve as Chairman of the Acadiana Legislative Delegation for the 2016 Legislative Session. Representative Pierre previously served as Chairman throughout the 2013, 2014, and 2015 Legislative Sessions and will continue with his duties immediately.

Rep. Pierre serves House District 44, which encompasses Lafayette Parish. He serves on the Insurance, Labor, and Transportation Committees.

"After serving as Chairman of this wonderful Delegation and its members for the previous three years, it is an honor and privilege to be re-elected and have the opportunity to serve for a fourth consecutive year. I look forward to working closely with the forty-seven members of the Delegation as a united front here at the Capitol, and I will continue to put forth a diligent effort to serve the constituents by promoting objectives supporting the voices of all citizens throughout the twenty-two parishes of Acadiana over the next year," said Pierre.

Other offices of the Acadiana Legislative Delegation that were up for election were Vice Chairman and Secretary/Treasurer. Senator Jonathan Perry (R-District 26) was reelected as the Delegation's Vice Chairman without opposition, and Representative John Berthelot (D-District 88) was elected as the Delegation's Secretary/Treasurer, also without opposition.

As chairman, Representative Pierre appointed six delegation members to serve as officers on the Executive Committee, they are: Sen. Gerald Boudreaux (R- District 24), Rep. Julie Emerson (R- District 39), Rep. Blake Miguez (R- District 49), Rep. Dustin Miller (D-District 40), Sen. Fred Mills (R- District 22), and Rep. Jack Montoucet (D- District 42).

The Delegation was formed in 1979. It is composed of 34 Representatives and 13 Senators whose Districts are fully or partially located within one of the twenty-two parishes designated as the Acadiana Region.