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2024 2nd Extraordinary & Regular Sessions

2024 Second Extraordinary Session

• Convened February 19 – Adjourned February 29

• “Called” by Governor’s Proclamation No. 13   
JML 2024 to address crime issues.

• Legislators limited to filing and debating bills 
that fall within the 24 items included in the 
Governor’s “call.”

• Instruments Filed

• 48 bills (23 House/15 Senate)

• 3 resolutions

2024 Regular Session

• Convened March 11 – Adjourned June 3

• Even-numbered years are “general” sessions.

• No matters involving state taxes or tax 
exemptions, exclusions, deductions or credits 
could be considered.

• Instruments Filed

• 1491 bills (982 House/509 Senate)

• 42 constitutional amendments

• 771 resolutions and study requests
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https://legis.la.gov/LegisDocs/242ES/call.pdf


Prepared by House Legislative Services, Louisiana House of Representatives

State Budget – FY 2024-2025

The General Appropriation Bill (HB 1) contains $42.1 B for the 

ordinary operating expenses of the executive branch for FY 

2024-2025, a $2.6 B decrease over FY 2023-2024.

These appropriations, by means of finance, break down as:

• $21.4 B in federal funds

• $11.2 B in state general funds

• $4.7 B in statutory dedications

• $3.5 B in fees and self-generated revenues

• $1.2 B in interagency transfers

Total appropriations for the operation of state government for FY 2024-2025, including those 

for the legislature, judiciary, ancillary agencies, and the capital outlay budget is $49.6 B. 
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https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB1&sbi=y
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Total FY 24-25 SGF Appropriations ($12 B)

K-12 Education 
$4.3 B
35.5%

Healthcare
$3.2 B
26.3%

Higher Education
$1.3 B
10.9%

Public Safety & Corrections
$1.3 B
10.6%

Debt Service & Other 
Obligations
$651.1 M
5.4%

General Government
$774.6 M
6.4%

Legislative & Judicial
$280.3 M
2.3%

Children & Family Services
$309.6 M
2.6%

$12 Billion
State General Fund

FY 25

4



Prepared by House Legislative Services, Louisiana House of Representatives

Total Appropriations ($49.6 B)

K-12 Education 
$7.5 B
15%

Healthcare
$19.9 B

40%

Higher Education
$3.4 B

7%

Public Safety & Corrections
$1.9 B

4%

Debt Service & Other Obligations
$4.3 B
8%

General Government
$11.3 B
23%

Legislative & Judicial
$342.3 M
1%

Children & Family Services
$942.9 M
2%

$49.6 Billion

Total 

Appropriations

FY 25
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Water Sector

Fund

$75 M

$70 M into the        

Phase II Subfund;     

$5 M into the 

Emergency 

Subfund (SB 64)
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$717 M Revenue Stabilization Trust Fund

Louisiana Transportation Infrastructure 

Fund

$390 M

• $285.7 M used in the Highway Priority 

Program for specific highway projects 

• $25 M used for the Road Transfer Program

Higher Education 

Campus Revitalization 

Fund

$94.3 M

1st $75 M into the 

College & University 

Deferred Maintenance & 

Capital Improvement 

Fund (HB 940) 

Criminal Justice and First Responder 

Fund

$157.6 M

1st $100 M into the Criminal Justice Priority 

Fund (SB 431)

Revenue Stabilization Trust Fund Transfers (HB 1 & HB 786)
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https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB64&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB940&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB431&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB1&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB786&sbi=y
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Capital Outlay

2024-2025 Capital Outlay 
Budget ($11.64 B), HB 2

Priority 1 (P1) = 
$1.77 B

Priority 5 (P5) = 
$6.28 B

Cash = 
$3.59 B

Priority 1 (P1) = $1.77 B

•Reauthorization of previously 
funded projects

•Eligible for a cash line of credit 

•$543M of P5 to P1 for new 
spending on projects

Priority 5 (P5) = $6.28 B

•Both reauthorizations of 
existing funding and 

proposed new funding

•Eligible for a non-cash 
line of credit

Cash = $3.59 B

•$1.67B from the Transportation Trust Fund (TTF)

•$202M from the FY 2022-2023 surplus

•$340M from Transportation Infrastructure Fund

•$133M Capital Outlay Savings Fund

•$84M Higher Education Campus Revitalization Fund

•$30M Criminal Justice & First Responder Fund

•$1.22B other cash means of finance

• HB 786 limits the withdrawal of monies from the Capital Outlay Savings Fund for projects to those made 

by an appropriation in a bill enacted by the legislature.

• HB 857 increases the parish population threshold for parishes to qualify for a capital outlay matching 

funds waiver. The calculation of population excludes the number of correctional facility inmates. 

• SB 318 requires a nonstate entity that receives funding for the acquisition or construction of new 

buildings through the Capital Outlay Act to establish, fund, and maintain an escrow account to be used 

exclusively for costs associated with the long-term major capital maintenance of the project beginning on 

or after July 1, 2024.
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http://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB2&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB786&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB857&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB318&sbi=y


• SB 1 (2nd ES) allows a person at least 18 years old and not prohibited from 
possessing a firearm to carry a concealed firearm without a permit.

• SB 2 (2nd ES) provides for a limitation of liability for persons authorized to 
carry a concealed handgun.  "Authorized persons" include active law 
enforcement, retired law enforcement, any person with a valid concealed 
handgun permit, and military personnel who are active, reserve, or retired.

• SB 377 adds any person who committed a felony-grade delinquent act 
while in possession of a firearm, if adjudicated when the person was 15   
or 16 years of age and under 22 years of age at the time of violation, to  
the list of those prohibited from possessing a firearm or carrying a 
concealed weapon.  

• SB 507 specifies that a person carrying a concealed handgun shall be fined not more than $500, or 
imprisoned for not more than six months, or both, if he negligently carries a concealed handgun while under 
the influence of alcohol or a controlled dangerous substance or while behaving in a criminally negligent 
manner. The penalty increases to not less than $500 and not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more 
than six months, or both, if the violation occurs in the French Quarter Management District.

• HB 67 adds parish presidents, mayor-presidents, and the statewide elected officials (the governor, the 
lieutenant governor, the secretary of state, the treasurer, the commissioner of agriculture, and the 
commissioner of insurance) to the list of certain persons who are not prohibited from possessing and 
concealing a handgun when the person is qualified annually by the Peace Officer Standards and Training 
Council (P.O.S.T.).  Former statewide elected officials are added to the list of persons who are not prohibited 
from possessing and concealing a handgun when the person is qualified annually by P.O.S.T., and requires 
each of the listed former officials to provide valid identification showing proof of such status.
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Firearms

Firearms
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https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=SB1&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=SB2&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB377&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB507&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB67&sbi=y
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New Crimes and Increased Penalties

New Crime

• Approaching a peace officer lawfully engaged in law enforcement duties (HB 173)

• Unlawful dissemination or sale of images of another created by artificial intelligence (SB 6)

• Possessing, trafficking, or importing a child sex doll (SB 107)

• Vandalizing, tampering with, or destroying a crime camera system (SB 387)

• Election fraud or forgery (SB 420)

• Picketing at the residence or dwelling of an individual (HB 737)

• Illegal use of weapons or dangerous instrumentalities (HB 5 (2nd ES))

• Prohibited persons wagering on sports events (SB 50)

Increased Penalties

• Negligent homicide when victim is killed by a 
dog or other animal (HB 213)

• Public bribery (HB 226)

• Human trafficking involving sexual activity of 
those under eighteen (SB 306)

• Carjacking (HB 7 (2nd ES))

• Molestation of a juvenile (HB 130) 

Abortion

SB 276 creates the crime of coerced criminal abortion by means of fraud and adds mifepristone and 
misoprostol to Schedule IV of the Uniform Controlled Dangerous Substances Law.
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https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB173&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB6&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB107&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB387&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB420&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB737&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=HB5&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB50&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB213&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB226&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB306&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=HB7&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB130&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB276&sbi=y


• SB 9 (2nd ES) allows the prosecution of any sex crime to be initiated 
outside of the current time limitations when the identity of a suspect is 
established using newly discovered evidence.

• HB 8 (2nd ES) specifies that any person who possesses fentanyl with the 
intent to distribute in a manner with reasonable appeal to a minor due to 
the shape, color, taste, or design of the fentanyl or packaging shall be 
imprisoned at hard labor for not less than 25 years nor more than 99 
years without benefit of probation, parole, or suspension of sentence.

• HB 3 (2nd ES) requires drug testing to determine the presence of any 
controlled dangerous substance to occur within twenty four hours of the 
booking of the person arrested for a violation of the Uniform Controlled 
Dangers Substances Law.  

• HB 6 (2nd ES) adds nitrogen hypoxia and electrocution as additional methods for administering the 
death penalty. 

• SB 7 (2nd ES) requires the court to order the use of an ignition interlock for at least six months on a first 
offense conviction of operation of a vehicle while intoxicated.

• SB 371 allows the court to sentence an offender to surgical castration when convicted of a sex offense 
that is also an aggravated offense with a victim under the age of thirteen.

• HB 4 (2nd ES) specifies that post-conviction relief is subject to all of the limitations and restrictions set 
forth in either C.Cr.P. Art. 930.4 or 930.8, shall be jurisdictional, and shall not be waived or excused.

Prepared by House Legislative Services, Louisiana House of Representatives

Sentencing
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https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=SB9&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=HB8&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=HB3&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=HB6&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=SB7&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB371&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=HB4&sbi=y


• Prohibits the modification of the sentence of a child who was 14 years of age or older when he committed 
first degree rape or aggravated kidnapping.  

• A child, who was 14 years of age or older and is a second time offender of a crime of violence, shall be 
confined in secure placement within DPS&C or any secure public or private institution without benefit of 
probation or suspension of imposition or execution of sentence. 

• A child confined in secure placement for armed robbery, carjacking, or a second offense of a crime of 
violence will be eligible for modification after serving at least 24 months of the disposition or half of a 
disposition than 36 months. 

• Also specifies factors for a court to consider when deciding if a child poses a risk to the community.

Creates the Criminal Justice Priority Funding Commission to review and       
recommend funding for criminal justice initiatives including:

• Building and repairs to juvenile detention centers and adult 
correctional facilities.

• Statewide crime lab repairs, construction, and equipment purchases.

• Integrated Criminal Justice Information System that provides shared 
data and information for law enforcement agencies, court systems, 
and statewide databases.
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Juvenile Justice

SB 3 (2nd ES) lowers the age for consideration as a juvenile in the criminal justice system. 

SB 431

SB 4 (2nd ES)
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https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=SB3&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB431&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=SB4&sbi=y
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Criminal Justice

Statute of Limitations

• Time limitations for prosecution of third 

degree rape do not start until the crime is 

discovered by the victim (HB 356)

• Eliminates the statute of limitations to 

prosecute the crime of molestation of a 

juvenile or a person with a physical or 

mental disability (HB 453)

Parole

• HB 9 (2nd ES), HB 10 (2nd ES), and HB 11 (2nd ES)
restrict parole eligibility, strengthen penalties for 
violating conditions of parole, and reduce the 
diminution of sentence.

• SB 5 (2nd ES) requires a unanimous vote of the 
Committee on Parole to grant parole, only allows 
parole consideration if an offender has not 
committed any major disciplinary offenses for 36 
consecutive months prior to his parole eligibility 
date, and makes other specifications about parole 
procedures and victim and law enforcement notice.

• SB 10 (2nd ES) restricts the diminution of sentence 
rate for a person convicted in the death of a peace 
officer or first responder killed in the line of duty.

Pardon

HB 391 makes a person convicted of possession   
of marijuana, tetrahydrocannabinol, or chemical 
derivatives thereof, eligible for a pardon by the 
governor without the necessity of completion of 
sentence and without a recommendation of the 
Board of Pardons.  All court costs imposed with   
the conviction must be paid in full.

Supervised Release

HB 206 allows the state to seek active 
supervised release of a committed person 
based upon the committed person's 
continued dangerousness if both of the 
following conditions are satisfied:

• The committed person was found not 
guilty by reason of insanity for, or 
attempted to commit, any crime 
punishable by death or by life 
imprisonment or any crime that is either a 
crime of violence or a sex offense.

• The state proves by clear and convincing 
evidence that the committed person is 
dangerous to others or himself.
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https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB356&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB453&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=HB9&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=HB10&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=HB11&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=SB5&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=SB10&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB391&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB206&sbi=y
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Criminal Justice

Public Defender

SB 8 (2nd ES) creates the Office of State Public Defender 
and reorganizes the public defender system.

Criminal Records

HB 1 (2nd ES) creates the Truth and Transparency in the 
Louisiana Criminal Justice System Program, which requires 
each district clerk of court responsible for maintaining 
criminal records to provide the public electronic access via 
an online portal. Each district clerk of court and the clerk of 
the Juvenile Court for the Parish of Orleans responsible for 
juvenile court records shall also transmit to the same online 
portal all minute entries involving juveniles accused of 
committing a crime of violence. 

Victim Notification

• HB 734 allows a victim's family the right to not be contacted once the clemency process has begun 
unless arranged through a victim service coordinator appointed by the prosecuting agency.

• HB 723 requires the governor to provide notice to certain persons prior to commuting a criminal 
sentence or granting a pardon to any person.

• HB 212 requires the Department of Health (LDH) to notify the district attorney and criminal court when  
a defendant adjudicated not competent to stand trial or not guilty by reason of insanity and committed  
to LDH is transferred to another facility or released from custody or placed on conditional release.
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https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=SB8&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=HB1&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB734&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB723&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB212&sbi=y
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Law Enforcement

• SB 31 increases survivor benefits for dependent 
children of firemen and law enforcement officers.

• HB 2 (2nd ES) provides civil liability immunity under 
certain circumstances for peace officers and public 
entities that employ or appoint peace officers.

• HB 639 expands the definition of “obstruction of” an 
officer to also mean the failure to provide or display 
the person's state issued driver's license or 
identification upon the officer's request when the 
person is an operator of a motor vehicle, the person 
has been lawfully detained for an alleged violation 
of a law, and the officer has exhausted all resources 
at his disposal to verify the identity of the person.

• SB 24 repeals prohibitions limiting the release of 
booking photographs by law enforcement officers 
and agencies.
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https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB31&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=242ES&b=HB2&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB639&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB24&sbi=y
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HB 315 defines a two year 
time limit to file a civil action 

that begins the day 
actionable damage or injury 

occurred. For immovable 
property, this time limit starts
the day the owner acquired, 

or should have acquired, 
knowledge of the damage.

HB 423 limits recoverable 
medical expenses a court 

may award in damages and 
bases the calculation for this 

award on the amount 
actually paid or owed—not 

the original amount billed by 
a healthcare provider.

HB 21 allows for service of 
process by commercial 
courier for a petition for 

appointment as curator for 
an absent person.

HB 27 allows for service of 
process by commercial 

courier for a subpoena for 
medical records.

SB 84 provides for a motion 
for judgment on an offer of 
judgment, the offer must be 

served at least 20 days 
before trial, and a plaintiff-

offeree must pay court costs 
for the defendant-offeror if 
the final judgment is in the 

defendant’s favor.

HB 785 limits liability for 
commercial vehicles that do 

not install optional equipment 
and clarifies that commercial 
vehicle owners have no duty 
to install equipment that is 

not required by law.

Civil Law
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https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?i=245953
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?i=246113
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB21
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB27
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB84&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB785
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HB 375 mandates that 
insurers who write 

homeowners' or motor 
vehicle insurance must 

disclose all discounts that 
could reduce a 

policyholder's premium.

HB 337 limits direct action 
lawsuits by preventing 

insurers from being named 
in initial lawsuits for an 

auto accident and prohibits 
a court from disclosing 

insurance coverage to a 
jury unless required to by 

evidentiary laws.

HB 430 allows a car owner 
whose vehicle is registered 
in this state to show a valid 
motor vehicle liability policy 
issued from another state, 
to satisfy requirements for 

proof of financial 
responsibility.

SB 499 addresses 
selection or refusal of 

uninsured motorist 
coverage when purchasing 

car insurance.

HB 511 requires insurers to 
verify proper completion 
and retain a copy of the 

uninsured motorist form for 
rejection of coverage.

SB 337 extends a 25% 
discount for car insurance 

premiums to military 
reservists, retired military, 

and disabled veterans.

Motor Vehicle Insurance
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https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB375&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB337&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB430
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB499&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB511&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB337
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HB 609 addresses claim disputes 

when insurers and consumers 

disagree on the amount of loss 

the company should cover. 

Allows both parties to hire an 

independent appraiser, and if 

these appraisers still do not 

agree, an impartial umpire can be 

assigned.

Fortify Homes Program

HB 120 repeals termination date.

SB 484 allows the commissioner to 

apply for grants or funding to 

supplement state appropriations, 

and requires the Department of 

Insurance (LDI) to annually publish 

insurer discounts approved thus far 

and actuarially sound program and 

discount recommendations.

SB 295 updates 

property and 

casualty lines to a 

“file-and-use” 

system, allowing 

new rates and 

products to take 

effect upon filing. 

LDI may, within 30 

days, disapprove 

these filings.

HB 611 phases out 

Louisiana’s unique 

rule that prohibits 

homeowners 

insurers from 

raising deductibles 

or canceling or not 

renewing policies in 

effect more than 

three years. 

SB 242 allows 

homeowners 

insurers to use 

aerial images to 

inspect property as 

long as the images 

were taken within 

the last 24 months.

SB 323 streamlines 

bad faith statutes, 

clarifies the claims 

process, and details 

the duties of good 

faith and fair 

dealing for both the 

insurance company 

and customer.

Property Insurance
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SB 113 suspends 

the 10% surcharge 

for rates for policies 

from Citizens 

Property Insurance 

Corporation in all 

parishes from 

January 1, 2025 –

December 31, 

2027.

https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB609&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB120&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB484&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB295&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB611&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB242&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB323&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB113&sbi=y
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SB 219
Requires mutual insurance 

companies be transparent 

about seeking reorganization 

as part of a proposed sale and 

revises laws for hearings, 

voting, and advertising.

SB 200 
Mandates health insurers 

make life-sustaining services 

accessible at in-network rates 

to seriously ill patients 

displaced out-of-state by a 

named storm.

SB 463
Requires transparency of 

expenditures for dental 

healthcare plan premiums and 

annual reporting of dental loss 

ratios.

HB 616
Creates a process for 

actuarial reviews of proposed 

legislation that would 

mandate, reduce, or eliminate 

aspects of health insurance 

coverage.

The following mandates coverage for:

 menopausal and perimenopausal treatment (HB 392).

 expanded types of colorectal cancer screening (HB 361).

 patient's choice of medical and surgical treatments following 

a cancer diagnosis (HB 508).

 pregnancy-related nutrition counseling & postpartum 

lactation support services (SB 300).

Health Insurance
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https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB219
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB200
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB463
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB616
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB392
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB361
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Health

Medicaid

• HB 80 authorizes transportation network companies to provide 
nonemergency medical transportation services through the state 
Medicaid program.

• HB 896 creates the Remote Patient Monitoring Program Law to 
allow remote monitoring services within the Medicaid program.

• SB 187 establishes a pilot program for adult Medicaid 
beneficiaries to receive coverage for portable oxygen 
concentrators.

Public Health

• HB 853 creates the Office of Surgeon General within LDH to 
serve as its chief medical officer.

• HB 687 creates a license for providers of the Program of All-
Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) and establishes licensing 
standards and requirements.

• HB 83 requires the state health officer to establish a mandatory 
consent form detailing the health risks and permanence of each 
procedure at commercial body art facilities.

• SB 46 creates the Alzheimer's and Related Dementias Advisory 
Council within LDH to review and assess the status of such 
diseases in this state.
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Requires

• Manufacturers ensure THC uniformity with potency testing on every batch of consumable hemp

• Child resistant packaging of consumable hemp.

• Labels include total THC per serving and a warning that consumption of products with THC may result 
in a failed drug test.

Prepared by House Legislative Services, Louisiana House of Representatives

Consumable Hemp & Therapeutic Marijuana

Limits

• Consumable hemp edibles to 5 mgs of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) 
per serving and 40 mgs of THC per package.

• Beverages to 1 single, 5 mgs THC serving per can or bottle.

• Tinctures to 1 oz. packages with 1 mL servings of 1 mgs THC.

Prohibits

• Sale of consumable hemp products at certain establishments 
permitted to sell alcohol and at convenience stores that sell fuel.

• Adding consumable hemp to alcoholic beverages.

• Floral hemp material.

• Inhalable consumable hemp products.

Therapeutic Marijuana

• SB 228 gives authority to the Department of Health to issue two licenses to cultivate, extract, process, 

and produce therapeutic marijuana and extends the sunset on regulations to July 1, 2030. 

• HB 376 transfers the authority to regulate marijuana pharmacies from the Pharmacy Board to the 

Department of Health.
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Health Occupations

• HB 865 allows supervision for certain social workers and licensed professional counselors to be 

conducted in-person or remotely via telesupervision.

• HB 888 enacts the Social Work Licensure Compact and establishes a multistate license for social 

workers.

• HB 849 allows behavioral health providers to include collateral information in a patient’s record and 

details a facility’s notification duties prior to a patient’s discharge.

• SB 57 creates a license for psychological associates to independently offer mental health 

counseling and psychotherapy.

Mental Health

• HB 972 allows the Medical Examiners Board to grant a temporary license to an international 

medical graduate who satisfies certain criteria.

• SB 165 limits allowable noncompetition provisions for physicians.

• HB 869 requires emergency physicians and physician assistants receive continuing education on 

sickle cell disease.

Physical Health

• HB 579 authorizes pharmacists to dispense and administer HIV pre-exposure (PrEP) and post-

exposure prophylaxis (PEP).

• SB 444 prohibits pharmacy benefit managers from reimbursing a pharmacy or pharmacist less than 

acquisition cost for a covered drug, device, or service.

Pharmacists & Pharmacies
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Occupations

HB 366

Requires home buyers and real 

estate brokers to sign a basic 

buyer agreement detailing the 

services to be provided and 

compensation in return. 

SB 506

Prohibits unfair residential real 

estate service agreements 

purportedly secured by lien or 

mortgage and recorded in 

conveyance records.

HB 716 and SB 60

“Welcome Home Act”

Allows qualified workers with out-

of-state licenses to apply for in-

state recognition without repeating 

training.

HB 933

Removes license and exam 

requirements for retail and 

wholesale florists and cut flower 

dealers and consolidates these to 

a single “floral dealer” permit.

HB 814

Updates age requirements for 

barber college admissions and 

barbers registered out-of-state 

who apply to take a Louisiana 

certifying exam.

HB 753

Replaces the tradesman plumbing 

license with a residential plumbing 

limited license and updates the 

membership of the state’s 

Plumbing Board.

22

https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB366
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB506
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB716&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB60
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB933&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB814&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB753&sbi=y


Facility Maintenance

HB 940 authorizes the issuance of up to $1.681 billion 
in bonds to fund College and University Deferred 
Maintenance Capital Improvement Program projects.

Prepared by House Legislative Services, Louisiana House of Representatives

Postsecondary Education

Tuition and Fees

HB 862 allows postsecondary education management 
boards to establish and increase differential tuition and 
mandatory fees for high cost programs.

M.J. Foster Promise Program

• HB 728 phases in minimum eligibility age decrease, 
from 21 to 17, over a period of four award years.

• SB 272 increases the maximum appropriation limit.

Name, Image, and Likeness (NIL)

SB 465 changes intercollegiate athlete NIL regulation to:

• Allow a player to hire a marketing representative to secure compensation for NIL use.

• Allow institutions to compensate an athlete for NIL activity if authorized by court order, consent decree,   
or settlement agreement.

• Allow players to not disclose NIL contracts under $600 to their institution. 

• Require players be provided with financial literacy and life skills courses annually for at least two and 
one half hours.

• Require institutions to provide intercollegiate athletes with annual financial literacy and life skills 
training for a minimum of two and one half hours.
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Education

Charter Schools

• HB 78 and SB 47 authorize initial proposals 

for charter schools with corporate partners to 

be made to the Board of Elementary and 

Secondary Education as a Type 2 charter 

school proposal. 

• HB 708 reduces requirements that charter 

schools meet a certain threshold with respect 

to the number of students with exceptionalities 

and economically disadvantaged students 

relative to its total student enrollment.

• SB 316 increases the initial charter term to a 

maximum of five years, makes changes to 

charter renewal criteria and contract 

extensions due to extraordinary circumstances, 

and permits the granting authority the option to 

reconstitute the governing body of a charter 

found in violation of laws and policies as an 

alternative to revocation.

• SB 350 revises charter school statutes 

concerning school autonomy and requires 

applicants for Type 1 and Type 3 charter 

schools provide a notice of application to the 

Department of Education.

Dyslexia

• SB 72 exempts students with dyslexia from literacy 
screeners and instead requires a test that assesses 
phonological skills and oral reading fluency.

• SB 336 allows a student’s parent or guardian to 
request subsequent dyslexia testing and a core 
assessment if a screening indicates a student is at 
risk for dyslexia. 

Testing

• HB 8 prohibits using an appeals process for students 
who fail state-administered tests required for high 
school graduation.

• HB 762 allows high school career diploma students 
to take the Armed Services Vocational Aptitude 
Battery (ASVAB) or WorkKeys test in lieu of the ACT 
and allows non-career diploma students to take the 
same tests in addition to the ACT.

School Choice

SB 313 creates the Louisiana Giving All True 

Opportunity to Rise (LA GATOR) Scholarship Program, 

a universal education scholarship account program.
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SB 207 prohibits students from possessing any electronic telecommunications device during the instructional 
day unless addressed in their individualized education, accommodation, Section 504, or health plan.

Prepared by House Legislative Services, Louisiana House of Representatives

Education

HB 71 requires schools to display the Ten 
Commandments and allows for the display of 
the Mayflower Compact, the Declaration of 
Independence, and the Northwest Ordinance.

HB 121 prohibits school governing authorities from 
inquiring about a student or employee’s pronouns 
and requires school employees to use the name 
listed on a student’s birth certificate, or a derivative 
thereof, and pronouns that align with the sex listed 
on the original birth certificate.

HB 122 prohibits a public school teacher, employee, or other 
presenter at a school from doing any of the following:

• Incorporating into classroom instruction or discussion topics 
of sexual orientation or gender identity in a manner that 
deviates from state content standards or curricula developed 
or approved by the public school governing authority. 

• Covering the topics of sexual orientation or gender identity 
during any extracurricular activity. 

• Discussing his personal sexual orientation or gender identity.

SB 205 requires compensating any 
teacher that is not afforded the minimum 
uninterrupted planning time at their 
effective hourly rate and requires each 
governing authority to develop a uniform 
supplemental salary schedule that 
specifically addresses compensation for 
duties performed by certified employees 
of the governing authority beyond the 
scope of their duties and responsibilities. 
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School Curricula

HB 320 repeals statutes requiring student instruction on adoption awareness, breast and cervical exams, 
CPR and automated external defibrillators, child assault, dating violence, eating disorders, internet and cell 
phone safety, litter, mental health, organ donation, parenthood, safe haven laws, shaken baby syndrome, 

substance abuse, and water safety. It also repeals statutes concerning teacher training on bullying, adverse 
childhood experiences and trauma-informed education, first aid, classroom management, communicable 

disease and control, sudden cardiac arrest, and suicide prevention. The Board of Elementary and 
Secondary Education is directed to consider requiring the repealed topics be included in required student 

instruction and teacher training.

HB 267 requires the 
Department of 

Education to provide 
screeners measuring 
the development of 

foundational numeracy 
of students in 

kindergarten through 
third grade. Numeracy 

interventions and 
supports are required 
for students identified 
as having numeracy 
skills below grade 

level. 

SB 508 redefines 
“accelerated instruction” 

as “high-dosage 
tutoring” and expands 
academic supports to 

students in kindergarten 
through fifth grade who 
either performed below 
grade level on a literacy 
or numeracy screener in 

the current academic 
year or failed to achieve 

mastery on statewide 
assessments in reading 

and math in the 
previous academic year.

HB 244 expands the Steve Carter Literacy 
Program to include educational services in math.

HB 264 adds computer science as a high school 
graduation requirement.
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Children

HB 577 protects children’s internet data by barring social media companies from 
collecting and selling a minor’s personal data or using this information to target minors 
with advertising based on the personal data collected. 

HB 335 clarifies procedures for specified individuals to report suspicions of child abuse 
or neglect to DCFS, local law enforcement, or a dual report to both. Also clarifies who 
qualifies as a mandatory reporter and the penalties for employers who prevent a report 
from being made.

SB 246 extends the option to file a cause 
of action related to past sexual abuse of a 
minor for actions that had previously 
passed the prescription deadline.

SB 41 declares that one of the purposes of 
the Louisiana Children's Code’s is to 
promote public safety.

SB 414 authorizes installation of newborn 
safety devices for Safe Haven infant 
relinquishment in a continuously manned 
emergency care facility run 24/7.
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“Uniform Collaborative 

Family Law Act” 

SB 188 encourages 

alternative dispute resolution 

for parties seeking an early 

resolution of pending litigation 

through compromise and a 

peaceable resolution of 

disputes that might otherwise 

be heard in family court.

“Women’s Safety and 

Protection Act”

HB 608 intends to clarify and 

reconcile the meaning of sex, 

male, female, and related 

terms in state law and to give 

protections to women and 

girls against sexual assault, 

harassment, and violence in 

traditionally female spaces.

“Louisiana Pregnancy 

and Baby Care Initiative” 

SB 278 creates a statewide 

social service program for 

unplanned pregnancy 

support, including 

counseling or mentoring, 

resource referrals, skill 

classes, and material items.

“Adoption Awareness Act”

SB 312 promotes 

understanding of 

contemporary adoption 

practices and provides for 

marketing of and education 

and training for adoption 

information and resources.

HB 236 details the 

procedures for a court-

ordered mental health 

evaluation or a court-

ordered custody evaluation 

during a custody or 

visitation proceeding.

Women and Families
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Disqualifies individuals who knowingly accepted overpayment of unemployment benefits from 

future benefits until the fraudulent payments and any imposed penalties are repaid, or until 10 

years have passed, and clarifies that overpayment of $1000 or more is theft and should be 

referred to the local district attorney.

Specifies that an employee’s commission, incentive pay, or bonus is only considered an amount 

due for a final payment after termination if, at the time of separation, the compensation has 

been earned and not modified in accordance with a written policy.

Aligns workforce development programs and funding under a single point of contact and tasks 

the Louisiana Workforce Commission with coordinating delivery of business workforce solutions 

through the various state workforce and educational agencies.

Decreases the maximum number of weeks for regular unemployment benefits from 26 weeks to 

a sliding scale between 12-20 weeks that depends on state unemployment rates. Creates a 

program for extended unemployment benefits for certain individuals who are participating in an 

approved training program.

Removes the mandatory 30-minute meal period for each 5-hour work period for minor 

employees aged 16 or older.
HB 156

HB 119

HB 247

SB 293

HB 352
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Labor
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HB 339

Requires non-aviation 

vendors at airports, such 

as restaurants or shops, 

to accept cash payments 

for consumer purchases 

in addition to payment 

cards.

HB 357

Defines a “central bank 

digital currency” and 

excludes such currency 

from the definition of a 

deposit account.

SB 232

Recognizes any gold or 

silver coin, specie, or 

bullion issued by any 

state or the federal 

government as legal 

tender in Louisiana. 

HB 5

Requires public colleges 

and universities to accept 

cash as a valid method 

of payment for goods 

sold at athletic and other 

public events.
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Currency

HB 488

• Protects digital asset mining and the use of digital currency or assets. 

• Prohibits  governing authorities from requiring use, payment, or testing of a 

central bank digital currency.

• Defines prohibited foreign party and prohibits such parties from owning a 

digital asset mining business in the state. 

• Extends the Virtual Currency Business Act to July 1, 2027.
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“Foreign adversary” and “foreign country of concern” is 
defined as an individual or a government identified as a 
foreign adversary pursuant to 15 CFR 7.4. Includes the:

• People's Republic of China and the Hong Kong 
Special Administrative Region,

• Republic of Cuba,

• Islamic Republic of Iran,

• Democratic People's Republic of Korea,

• Russian Federation, and

• Venezuela under the leadership of Nicolas Maduro.

SB 133 specifies that no rule, regulation, fee, tax, policy, or mandate of any kind by the World Health 
Organization, United Nations, or the World Economic Forum shall be enforced or implemented by the 
state of Louisiana or any agency, department, board, commission, political subdivision, governmental 

entity of the state, parish, municipality, or any other political entity.
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International Affairs

HB 238 restricts any foreign adversary or a prohibited 
foreign actor from directly or indirectly owning, acquiring, 
leasing, or otherwise obtaining any interest in agricultural 

land. Violators are subject to a civil penalty of $50,000  
and forfeiture of the agricultural land. 

SB 355 enacts the “Transparency and Limitations on 
Foreign Third-Party Litigation Funding Act” that 

establishes limits on foreign third-party litigation funding.

SB 208 prohibits a state entity, law 
enforcement agency, or local governmental 

entity from adopting an illegal alien 
sanctuary policy.

SB 388 creates the crime of unlawful entry 

or reentry into Louisiana by an alien.
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Agriculture

HB 240 creates an inspection fee for commercial weighing and measuring devices for subsequent inspections 
under the Louisiana Weights and Measures Law. The commissioner of agriculture and forestry may assess a 
civil penalty that increases for repeated violations. The subsequent inspection fees are:

• Category 1– zero to 1,000 pounds capacity $00.00; 

• Category 2– over 1,000 to 10,000 pounds capacity $135.00; 

• Category 3– over 10,000 pounds capacity $250.00; 

• Mass Flow Meters $250.00

HB 670 requires the 
Department of 
Agriculture and 

Forestry to establish a 
financing program to 
increase healthy food 
access in underserved 

communities by 
providing funding to 
health food retailers. 

HB 467 defines “raw milk” 
and establishes labeling, 

testing, and record-keeping 
requirements applicable to 

raw milk sold as animal 
feed.  Allows the 

commissioner of agriculture 
and forestry to suspend the 

sale, distribution, or 
movement of raw milk that 
causes a disease outbreak.

HCR 42 requests the LSU 
and Southern Ag Centers to 

study and make 
recommendations on how 

sugarcane bagasse can be 
used to provide economic 

benefits to sugarcane 
producers through private 

sector investments.

HB 134 prohibits local 
governments from 

enacting regulations 
by that create differing 
standards for fuel used 

in agricultural 
machinery and fishery 
equipment from other 
fuels or machinery. 
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Forestry

HB 327 requires any person who intends to cut five or more acres of 
timberland to have a written contract or agreement with the timberland 

owner, purchaser, or representative. 

SB 81 requires a non-certified prescribed burn manager to provide to the Office of Forestry the location, date, 
and time of the prescribed burn prior to conducting a prescribed burn. The information submission does not 

entitle the non-certified prescribed burn manager to a rebuttable presumption of non-negligence.                  
Leaf piles, yard debris, or hand-piled natural vegetation burning does not require a permit.

SB 328 requires the state forester to establish a training program for  
volunteer firefighters regarding proper wildland fighting.

SB 326 allows the state forester to establish an educational training 
program to address post-traumatic stress and to provide emotional 

support for wildland firefighters.

HB 346 requires the arboricultural and utility arboricultural examinations 
be compiled from questions submitted by the LSU Agricultural Center, the 

Southern Agricultural Center, and the Louisiana Arborist Association. 
Further authorizes the Arborist Association to administer the required 

continuing training seminar for license renewal.
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Wildlife & Fisheries

• HB 854 adds an exemption to Wildlife Rehabilitation Program (WRP) 
rules that allows for limited possession of certain sick, injured, or 
orphaned wildlife that an individual is rehabilitating.

• HCR 6 adds an exemption to WRP rules that allows for limited  
possession of certain sick, injured, or orphaned wildlife that an individual 
is rehabilitating. Expands WRP training programs by making them 
available online, and allows for inspection of WRP applicant facilities upon 
twenty four hour notice by Department of Wildlife and Fisheries (LDWF). 
Prohibits an individual operating under the WRP exemption from using the 
wildlife for the purposes of exploitation.

• HB 653 creates the Commemorative Pet Stamp Program to support the 
spay and neuter programs of the Louisiana Pet Overpopulation Council.

• HB 795 requires the LDWF be reimbursed from the state general fund for any revenue lost from 
discounted hunting or fishing licenses created by the legislature in the future. 

• HB 684 establishes a bear hunting license and a bear tag lottery. Dedicates all revenue received from 
the license sales and lottery application fees to the Black Bear Account.

• HB 661 requires all charter captains to have commercial marine insurance coverage. Establishes a 
fine of at least $1,000 for a first offense violation. 

• HB 540 allows charter guides to submit claims for reimbursement from the Fisherman's Gear 
Compensation and Underwater Obstruction Removal Dedicated Fund Account for commercial gear 
that is damaged by underwater obstructions.
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Prepared by House Legislative Services, Louisiana House of Representatives

Seafood

Requires any wholesale/retail or retail seafood dealers that sell imported seafood 
within the state to obtain an imported seafood license. 90% of the license fee revenue 
will be used for sampling and testing imported seafood.  

HB 676

Increases the imported seafood safety fee from seafood distributors and processors 
to $300 in 2025, $500 in 2026, $750 in 2027, and $1,000 in 2028 and every year 
after. The proceeds will be used for sampling and testing imported seafood.

HB 748

Requires the Department of Culture, Recreation, and Tourism (DCRT) to administer 
a seafood program that includes the promotion and marketing of Louisiana seafood 
and the regulation of imported seafood to ensure health and safety. It also transfers 
the Seafood Safety Task Force to DCRT and specifies the membership, mission and 
purpose, and meeting requirements of the task force. 

SB 40

Requires DCRT to collect the imported seafood safety fee from processors and 
distributors and to contract with the Department of Agriculture and Forestry to 
sample, analyze, and test imported seafood.  Also establishes authority for DCRT to 
collect information and impose fines related to imported seafood that is mislabeled or 
fails testing. All fines will be used for sampling and testing imported seafood.

SB 62

Prohibits marketing products using any Louisiana related imagery, phrases, colors,  
or styles if the products are not genuinely linked to the state’s cultural heritage and 
produced or landed within the state. The commissioner of agriculture shall issue fines 
and may confiscate products in violation. Requires all state agencies, state 
institutions, or local school districts operating food service facilities to only utilize 
domestic shrimp or crawfish.

SB 166
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Natural Resources

HB 806 adds three at large members appointed 
by the governor and removes the secretaries of 
the Department of Transportation and 
Development and the Department of Economic 
Development, the commissioners of 
administration, agriculture, and insurance, and 
the director of the Governor's Office of Homeland 
Security and Emergency Preparedness.

• HB 474 requires wetland assimilation project permit holders to post warning signs near wetlands and at 
the entrances to wildlife management areas where wastewater is discharged. The signs must state 
"Warning: Treated Wastewater Discharge".

• SB 503 creates the Community Air Monitoring Reliability Act to establish standards for monitoring 
programs to ensure public access to accurate air quality information. Requires community air programs 
to use the standards provided in federal law and current EPA-approved testing and monitoring methods.

• Prohibits use of technology and data that is not in compliance with the required testing and monitoring 
methods for alleging a violation or noncompliance with the Clean Air Act or La. Environmental Quality 
Act. Requires that data produced by the federally approved programs alone shall not be sufficient to 
show a violation of the applicable law, and data from community air monitoring programs not in 
compliance with the federal standards shall not be used to issue a fine, penalty, violation, or for 
pursuing an enforcement action or proceeding.

Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority

Environment
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Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS)

• HB 966 authorizes the commissioner of 
conservation to order unitization for CCS 
projects for a public and necessary purpose if 
75% of the property owners within the area of 
the proposed unit have consented.

• Establishes procedures for authorizing 
unitization, judicial review of unitization 
orders and terms, and modification of units.

• Requires property owners within the unit 
receive just and equitable compensation.

• Requires notice to all mineral interest owners 
when an application for a CCS injection well 
permit is completed.

• Protects existing agreements from being 
altered by the unitization order.

• Requires the commissioner to determine 
whether the area of review for a CCS project 
is within a 500 foot radius of a proposed 
drilling site.

• Prohibits CCS wells in the unit from being 
within 500 feet of an inhabited dwelling.

• HB 937 clarifies that surface and pore space 
owners are not liable for claims related to CCS 
projects just because they are property owners 
or because they allowed their property to be 
used for CCS projects.

• HB 516 requires CCS operators to record 
maps of the CCS project in affected parishes.

• Prohibits a CCS well within 500 feet of 
schools, inhabited dwellings that don't 
belong to the CCS operator, and health 
care facilities.

• Requires CCS operators to have emergency 
response plans that include continuing 
training programs and to provide copies of 
the plan to parish governments.

• Requires CCS operators conduct periodic 
ground water quality testing and monitoring 
above the stored CO2 and report to the 
office of conservation.

• HB 492 requires a certificate of public 
necessity and convenience prior to the 
exercise of eminent domain for CCS facilities 
and pipelines, prohibits expropriation of 
underground storage rights.

• HB 934 dedicates 30% of revenue received by 
the state for CCS projects on Department of 
Wildlife and Fisheries property to parish 
governments where the project are located 
and   the remainder of revenue into the Wildlife 
and Fisheries Conservation Fund.
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• Creates three new offices within the Department of Energy and Natural 

Resources (DENR):

•The Office of Energy will manage functions and programs related to 

alternative energy infrastructure and the unified energy data and 

information program.

•The Office of Enforcement will inspect the regulated community and 

enforce laws and regulations within DENR's jurisdiction.

•The Office of Land and Water will manage state lands and water 

bottoms, issue energy-related permits and leases on state lands and 

water bottoms, and manage surface waters of the state.

• Transfers the Office of the Oil Spill Coordinator from the Department of 

Public Safety and Corrections to DENR.

• Creates the Natural Resources Trust Authority within DENR to manage 

grants, investments, and financial obligations of the permitted community.

• Adds powers and duties for the secretary, including: 

• The deployment and operation of energy infrastructure and an energy 

and natural resources data and information program.

• Reporting to the legislative oversight committees on whether to keep or 

terminate each board and commission within the department every 

four years.

• Removes the independent operation of the Office of Conservation.

Prepared by House Legislative Services, Louisiana House of Representatives

Energy

HB 810

HCR 18 urges and requests the 
Biden administration to end its 
pause on pending approvals of 
liquefied natural gas exports.

HCR 64 creates the Clean 
Hydrogen Task Force to study 
and make recommendations for 
growing the clean hydrogen 
industry in the state of Louisiana.
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State Government

• HB 669 limits access to judges’ personal information.

• HB 268 makes a public employee’s personal 
information contained within his personnel records 
confidential and removes the time limit to hold 
confidential office of the governor records pertaining 
to the schedule of the governor, his spouse, or his 
child that include security details.

• HB 767 authorizes a statewide elected official to hold 
confidential for 7 days records pertaining to the 
official’s schedule that contain security details and 
limits public records requests of the office of the 
governor to persons who reside in Louisiana.

• SB 462 allows the governor to appoint the chairman or 
presiding member of each board and commission with a 
majority of gubernatorially-appointed members if the 
appointment is not prohibited by the Constitution.

• SB 497 removes the nominating committee and increases 
the Board of Ethics membership to 9 gubernatorial 
appointments, 3 appointments by the Senate, and 3 
appointments by the House of Representatives.

• SB 357 specifies that either chamber of the legislature may 
terminate a part, subpart, or entire gubernatorially declared 
state of emergency by petition signed by a majority of the 
surviving members of that chamber.

HB 845 creates the invitation to negotiate as a 
method of procuring information technology 

systems, software, and services and establishes 
criteria for utilizing the method.

HB 971 creates the Ports and Waterways 
Investment Commission within the Department of 
Transportation and Development to serve as an 
advocate for all state ports. Requires a strategic 

plan and investment program, distinct from the port 
priority program, to include a list of projects 

designed to use ports to advance trade and to 
provide a cost analysis for each project.

Gubernatorial Powers

Public Records
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Administration

•HB 384 extends the grace period applicable to 
penalties for lapse of compulsory motor vehicle 
liability security from five to ten days before 
issuing a violation.

•HB 683 requires OMV to process reinstatements 
in person at all field locations, removes the 
mandate for OMV to refer final delinquent debt to 
the Office of Debt Recovery, and creates the 
reinstatement relief program.

•HB 923 requires the OMV Commissioner to 
establish the rules and regulations for the 
issuance, suspension, or revocation of private 
training and driving instructor schools.

Prepared by House Legislative Services, Louisiana House of Representatives

Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV)

Driver’s Licenses and Special Identification Cards

• HB 494 authorizes the issuance of special identification cards for children ages fourteen through 
sixteen years of age when accompanied by an adult with whom they live or an adult who works for an 
agency that assists children.

• SB 236 establishes driver's license and special identification designations for persons with a seizure 
disorder.
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Motor Vehicles

Tolling

HB 778

Prohibits unmanned automated speed enforcement devices from being used to 
issue speeding violations in a school zone when a driver is not exceeding the 
speed limit posted immediately preceding the school zone when speed limit 
signs are not posted at the entrance and exit of the school zone.  Requires 
electronic speed enforcement device be placed in state or local right-of-ways.

SB 379

Repeals the 2022 law that designated the Atchafalaya Basin Bridge as a 
highway safety corridor and required the installation of camera safety devices 
on the bridge. 

SB 220

Authorizes law enforcement to impound any vehicle used in a drag race, or 
other enumerated action or event, at the owner's expense, for thirty days to 
gather evidence pertaining to the crime.

HB 534

Prohibits the ownership entity of a parking facility from receiving any 
compensation in connection with the immobilization of motor vehicles by 
booting on private property other than unpaid parking fees.

Specifies use of toll revenues and/or credits generated in connection with the:

• I-10 Calcasieu River Bridge public-private partnership (SB 446)

• Belle Chasse Bridge public-private partnership (HB 381)

Prohibits state agencies from restricting the use or sale of a motor vehicle 

based on the type of energy source used to power that vehicle, including 

vehicles with internal combustion engines. 

HB 515
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Military Affairs

• SB 159 creates the Preserving Lawful Utilization of Services for Veterans Act 

that prohibits compensation for:

• referring any individual to another person to advise or assist with any 

veterans' benefits matter; 

• services rendered in connection with a claim filed within the one-year 

presumptive period of active-duty release;

• services rendered in connection with a claim for pension benefits.

• SB 245 designates the Vietnam Veterans Memorial at Veterans Memorial 

Park in Lake Charles as the "Louisiana Vietnam Veterans Memorial".

• HB 140 adds disabled veteran identification cards to the proof of disability 

acceptable for airports to provide free parking to disabled veterans.

• SB 253 specifies that receiving or qualifying for special education courses  

does not preclude children of military personnel from remote school 

registration or preliminary enrollment.

• HB 61 updates the definition of “period of activation” to any period of state 

active duty ordered by the governor to receive death and disability benefits    

for Louisiana National Guardsmen or their beneficiaries. 

Survivor Education Benefits

• HB 385 decreases the residency requirement to 12 months prior to death to 

qualify for survivor education benefits and adds eligibility for veterans 

permanently assigned and reporting for duty to an active, National Guard, 

or Reserve installation or assignment in Louisiana.

• HB 766 increases the yearly funds available to survivor beneficiaries for 

expenses from $500 to $1,000.
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Retirement

• HB 42 and HB 43 revise MPERS membership and 
administration including: 

• Providing employees 30 days from date of employment to 
opt-out of system participation.

• Setting a three year window for any action or claim against an 
employer or member to recover delinquent payments, 
benefits, or damages.

• Requiring a 2/3 vote of the board to submit a request to 
garnish monies available for distribution to a municipality.

• Allowing the board to approve payment plans for up to 15 
years for delinquent payments.

• Permitting an employer or an employee to purchase eligible 
service credit prior to June 30, 2021.

• Increasing the maximum Deferred Retirement Option Plan 
(DROP) participation from three to five years.

• Requiring the survivor benefits application be received before 
120 days after the death of the retiree for the benefits to 
become effective on the day following the member's death.

• HB 963 decreases the suspended benefit period from 12 
months to 90 days.

• HB 31 provides a 5-year window for 
anyone who makes the election to 
participate in the Optional Retirement 
Plan (ORP) to re-elect to participate in 
the TRSL defined benefit plan (DBP), 
on a prospective basis only. The 
election to participate in the ORP or to 
move back to the DBP may only be 
made one time. Active members hired 
prior to August 1, 2020, participating in 
the ORP as of June 30, 2024, are 
allowed to make a one-time election to 
begin participating in the DBP through 
June 30, 2025.

• HB 967 permits members who retired 
after July 1, 2020 to be reemployed 
without a 12-month waiting period or a 
suspension of benefits, if they are 
reemployed in a specified position 
with a critical shortage of properly 
certified candidates. 
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Firefighters

• HB 253 requires that cancer screenings be provided 
to certain firefighters and fire service employees.

• HB 413 provides for the financial security of surviving 
spouses and dependent children of firefighters who 
are Louisiana residents and employed by certain 
federal agencies. 

• HB 807 expands the eligibility for the length of service 
award program to include all qualified firefighters.

Prepared by House Legislative Services, Louisiana House of Representatives

Public Employees

HB 974 authorizes parish and municipal governing authorities to remove library boards of control members 

and authorizes library boards of control to hire a library director and establish qualifications for the position.

Civil Service

• HB 739 provides that all officers, employees, and positions with primary duties that include wellness, 
mental health, or physical fitness are in the unclassified service of the fire and police civil service 
systems. Also requires the State Examiner to schedule testing and maintain a statewide eligibility list for 
the following positions: entrance jailer, secretary to the chief, departmental records clerk, and entrance 
classes for which the operation and maintenance of radio, alarm, or signal systems is the primary duty.

• HB 563 and SB 128 authorize housing authorities to adopt a resolution to provide that its employees 
shall not be included in the state civil service.
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Local Government

Water and Sewer Systems

• SB 64 makes changes to the Water Sector Program, including:

• Mandating that funds deposited into the Water Sector Fund after July 1, 2024, be used 
solely for grants for repairs, improvements, and consolidation of community water and 
sewer systems. 

• Establishing a detailed process for developing guidance, applications, ratings, and 
recommendations for new grants awarded after July 1, 2024. 

• Requiring grant recipients to provide matching funds unless waived by the commission.

• SB 73 Creates the Community Sewerage System Infrastructure Sustainability Act that 
enacts a community sewerage system accountability process that supports sewerage 
system infrastructure sustainability.

• HB 674 authorizes a local governing authority to adopt ordinances to address 
blighted property containing purported collector's automobiles.

• HB 596 clarifies the procedures for establishing a home rule charter commission. 

• HB 688 authorizes mayors and members of governing authorities of certain                               
municipalities to participate in training offered to local government officials.

• HB 461 allows local governments to confidentially maintain certain information 
regarding active economic development negotiations.

• HB 103 requires each school board and parish governing authority in a parish with a population of 25,000 
or of a municipality with a population of 10,000 or more to broadcast its public proceedings.

• HB 555 authorizes parish and municipal governing authorities to grant exclusive contracts for the collection 
and disposal of residential garbage and trash throughout the entirety of the territorial jurisdiction.

• SB 500 prohibits local sales and use tax on non-gaming incentives or inducements, including room stays, 
granted by a riverboat or slot machine licensee.
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Utilities and Broadband 

HB 700 requires GUMBO grantees to report all known damage to underground utilities that occur during 
the construction or installation of broadband infrastructure. Grantees must also provide notice prior to 
construction activities to the relevant parish and/or municipality. Enacts provisions regarding 
reimbursement and failure to perform for GUMBO 2.0 grantees. Creates GUMBO 3.0 and GUMBO 4.0 
programs in the event there are remaining 2.0 funds.

Granting Unserved Municipalities Broadband Opportunities (GUMBO)

• HB 913 allows tenants to request a housing 
provider supply a copy of the original bill for 
any utility supplied to the unit where the 
tenant resides. 

• HB 927 prohibits a parish or municipality 
from requiring a permit to continue electric 
services provided to a dwelling when the 
account holder transfers the account to 
another person.

Utility Services
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Cemeteries and Inheritance

HB 772 provides for the Louisiana 

Cemetery Response Task Force for 

emergency assistance and disaster relief. 

Grants the task force certain powers, 

such as property access or rule-making, 

as needed to direct the reinterment of 

human remains and mitigate risks to 

human health and safety.

HB 808 authorizes municipal or 

parochial governments to devote local 

resources to abating the public health or 

safety risks of an abandoned cemetery 

within the jurisdiction of that governing 

body. Also authorizes the chief elected 

official of a jurisdiction to abate a public 

health or safety risk caused by a declared 

disaster in any local cemetery.

SB 32 revises and clarifies the process of 

and eligibility for a small succession 

following the passing of a loved one. 

SB 49 revokes certain benefits payable to 

a former spouse if the parties were 

divorced after the beneficiary was 

designated, they remained divorced at 

the time of the decedent’s passing, and 

the parties had no agreement in place to 

expressly provide otherwise.

SB 137 allows banks and credit unions to 

provide an estate or succession 

representative access to a deceased 

customer’s property or accounts based 

on a court order from another state.

Cemeteries Inheritance
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Elections

HB 114 requires the Department of State to conduct an 
expanded annual canvass of registered voters.

HB 763 requires legislative notice before implementing 
federal election directives and/or funds.

SB 255 redraws the Supreme Court districts and 
creates a second majority-minority district.

HB 581 establishes requirements for witnessing 
election documents.

SCR 2 memorializes Congress to call for a 
convention of states to amend the United States 

Constitution to establish term limits for the 
members of congress.

HB 906

• Increases campaign contribution limits and allows for 
the attribution and allocation of excess contributions.

• Changes the Supervisory Committee’s investigation 
procedures.

• Increases the daily fine for failure to file or timely file 
certain financial disclosures with the Board of Ethics.

HB 506 requires individuals and entities intending 
to conduct a voter registration drive to register with 

the secretary of state.

HB 154 prohibits distributing any image, audio, or video 
created or intentionally manipulated to create a realistic 

but false image, audio, or video of a candidate or 
affiliate with the intent to deceive a voter or injure the 

reputation of a known candidate in an election. 
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https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB114&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB763&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB255&sbi=y
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https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB906&sbi=y
https://legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB506&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB154&sbi=y
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Constitutional Amendments

• SB 177 increases the membership of the Judiciary Commission, 
allows the Supreme Court to sanction a judge upon an 
investigation by the Judiciary Commission, and specifies that the 
recommended sanction be instituted by the Judiciary Commission 
or a majority of the Supreme Court.

• HB 300 requires the state to deposit federal revenues generated 
from Outer Continental Shelf alternative or renewable energy 
production into the Coastal Protection and Restoration Fund.

• HB 48 requires the legislature wait at least forty eight hours prior to concurring in a conference committee 
report or amendments to a bill appropriating money.

• HB 49 allows the legislature to extend a regular session in increments of two days up to a maximum of 
six days if necessary to pass a bill appropriating money. 

• SB 119 eliminates mandatory tax sales for nonpayment of property taxes and requires the legislature to 
provide for such procedures by law.  It also limits the amount of penalty and interest on delinquent 
property taxes and allows for the postponement of property tax payments under certain circumstances.

November 5, 2024

December 7, 2024
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https://www.sos.la.gov/ElectionsAndVoting/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB177&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB300&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB48&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/Legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=HB49&sbi=y
https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/BillInfo.aspx?s=24RS&b=SB119&sbi=y

