House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works and Senate Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works

Minutes of Joint Meeting 2020-2021 Interim September 16, 2020

I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative Vincent Pierre, chairman of the House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works, called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. in Room 5, in the state capitol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

II. ROLL CALL

HOUSE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Representative Vincent Pierre, chairman Representative Ken Brass, vice chairman

Representative Mack Cormier

Representative Kathy Edmonston

Representative Michael Firment

Representative Barbara Freiberg

Representative Ed Larvadain

Representative Pat Moore

Representative Charles Owen

Representative Robert Owen

Representative Rodney Schamerhorn

Representative Larry Selders

HOUSE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Representative Foy Gadberry Representative Dodie Horton Representative C. Travis Johnson

SENATE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Rick Ward, chairman Senator Louis Bernard Senator J. Rogers Pope

Senator Edward J. "Ed" Price Senator Gary L. Smith, Jr.

SENATE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Patrick McMath, vice chairman Senator Barrow Peacock

HOUSE STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

SENATE STAFF PRESENT:

LeeAnne Sharlow, attorney Angelique R. Mozee, committee administrative assistant Xavier Alexander, attorney Sharon Lyles, attorney Candace Shields, secretary

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES PRESENT:

Fay Talbot, House sergeant at arms Fate Mitchell, Senate sergeant at arms

III. DISCUSSION

To receive public input and to approve the Port Construction and Development Priority Program projects for the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 pursuant to R.S. 34:3453

Mr. Randall Withers, Department of Transportation and Development, port program, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-3065, spoke for information only on the approval of the Port Construction and Development Priority Program projects for Fiscal Year 2021-2022. He provided a handout, Exhibit A, which is included in the committee records.

Ms. Renee Lapeyrolerie, commissioner, Department of Transportation and Development, multimodal commerce, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-3029, spoke for information only on the approval of the Port Construction and Development Priority Program projects for Fiscal Year 2021-2022.

Representative Larvadain offered a motion to approve the Port Construction and Development Priority Program projects for Fiscal Year 2021-2022. Without objection, the projects were approved by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representative Pierre, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Larvadain, Moore, Charles Owen, Robert Owen, Schamerhorn, and Selders voted yea.

Senator Price offered a motion to approve the Port Construction and Development Priority Program projects for the Fiscal Year 2021-2022. Without objection, the projects were approved by a vote of 5 yeas and 0 nays. Senators Ward, Bernard, Pope, Price, and Smith voted yea.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 2 in support and 1 for information only. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

IV. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

with the rules of the House of Representatives.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Senator Ward offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 5 yeas and 0 nays. Senators Ward, Bernard, Pope, Price, and Smith voted yea.

Senator Ward offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 13 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Pierre, Brass, Cormier, Firment, Freiberg, Gadberry, Horton, C. Travis Johnson, Larvadain, Charles Owen, Robert Owen, Schamerhorn, and Selders voted yea.

	•
The meeting was adjourned at 10:19 a.m.	
Respectfully submitted,	
Chairman Vincent Pierre House Committee on Transportation, Highwa	ays and Public Works
Date adopted:	
The committee has acknowledged on	, that these minutes were prepared in accordanc