House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works and Senate Committee on Transportation, Highways, and Public Works

Minutes of Meeting 2020-2021 Interim April 7, 2021

I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative Vincent J. Pierre, chairman of the House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works, called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. in the House Chamber, in the state capitol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

II. ROLL CALL

HOUSE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Representative Vincent Pierre, chairman Representative Ken Brass, vice chairman Representative Mack Cormier Representative Mack Cormier Representative Kathy Edmonston Representative Michael Firment Representative Barbara Freiberg Representative Foy Gadberry Representative Foy Gadberry Representative C. Travis Johnson Representative Pat Moore Representative Charles Owen Representative Robert Owen Representative Robert Owen

HOUSE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Representative Cedric B. Glover Representative Larry Selders

SENATE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Rick Ward, chairman Senator Patrick McMath, vice chairman Senator Louie Bernard Senator Barrow Peacock Senator J. Rogers Pope Senator Edward "Ed" Price Senator Gary Smith

SENATE MEMBERS ABSENT:

HOUSE STAFF PRESENT:

LeeAnne Sharlow, attorney Carlesia Bibbins, attorney Brandy Phillips, committee administrative assistant

SENATE STAFF PRESENT:

Sharon Lyles, senior attorney Xavier Alexander, attorney Candace Shields, secretary

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES PRESENT:

Myrtis Jarrell, House sergeant at arms Danny Leming, House sergeant at arms Fate Mitchell, Senate sergeant at arms

III. DISCUSSION

Secretary Shawn Wilson, Department of Transportation and Development, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-1200, spoke for information only. He gave a brief overview of the new multimodal commissioner position and introduced Ms. Renee Lapeyrolerie, who will be the commissioner of the office of multimodal commerce. Secretary Wilson gave an overview on all of the programs that will be recommended for approval.

Ms. Renee Lapeyrolerie, DOTD Multimodal Commerce, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-3029, gave a brief introduction and introduced the staff of each Priority Program to be discussed.

<u>To review and receive public input regarding the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Airport Construction</u> <u>and Development Priority Program</u>

Mr. Michael Burrows, Department of Transportation and Development, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-3050, gave a brief overview of the status of Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Airport Construction and Development Priority Program projects and provided a handout, Exhibit A, which is included in the committee records.

<u>To review and receive public input regarding the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Statewide Flood</u> <u>Control Priority Program</u>

Mr. Billy Williamson, Department of Transportation and Development, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-3023, provided a brief status update of the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Statewide Flood Control Priority Program and provided handouts, Exhibit C and Exhibit D, which are included in the committee records.

<u>To review and receive public input regarding the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Port Construction and</u> <u>Development Priority Program</u>

Ms. Mary "Molly" Bourgoyne, DOTD Multimodal Commerce, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-3033, gave a brief description and reviewed the list of current projects in the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Statewide Flood Control Priority Program. She provided a handout, Exhibit B, which is included in the committee records.

To provide the status and updates on Act 443 Projects and TIFIA

Secretary Shawn Wilson, Department of Transportation and Development, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-1200, spoke for information only, and provided an update on Act 443 Projects and TIFIA. He provided a handout, Exhibit E, which is included in the committee records.

Mr. Rick Webre, St. James Parish Government, 5400 Highway 44, Convent, LA, (225) 620-2020, spoke for information only.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 5 in support and 5 for information only. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

IV. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Representative Gadberry made a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 13 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Pierre, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Gadberry, Horton, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Charles Owen, Robert Owen, and Schamerhorn voted yea.

Senator Ward made a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 7 yeas and 0 nays. Senators Ward, McMath, Bernard, Peacock, Pope, Price, and Smith voted yea.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:40 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman Vincent J. Pierre Joint Committee on Joint Transportation, Highways and Public Works

Date adopted:

The committee has acknowledged on _____, that these minutes were prepared in accordance with the rules of the House of Representatives.