House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works and Senate Committee on Transportation, Highways, and Public Works

Minutes of Meeting 2020-2021 Interim April 12, 2021

I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative Vincent J. Pierre, chairman of the House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works, called the meeting to order at 10:04 a.m. in Room 5, in the state capitol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

II. ROLL CALL

HOUSE MEMBERS PRESENT:

HOUSE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Representative Vincent Pierre, chairman

Representative Ken Brass, vice chairman

Representative Mack Cormier

Representative Kathy Edmonston

Representative Michael Firment

Representative Barbara Freiberg

Representative Foy Gadberry

Representative Cedric B. Glover

Representative Dodie Horton

Representative C. Travis Johnson

Representative Pat Moore

Representative Charles Owen

Representative Robert Owen

Representative Rodney Schamerhorn

Representative Larry Selders

SENATE MEMBERS PRESENT:

SENATE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Rick Ward, chairman

Senator Louie Bernard

Senator Barrow Peacock

Senator J. Rogers Pope

Senator Edward "Ed" Price

Senator Gary Smith

Senator Patrick McMath, vice chairman

HOUSE STAFF PRESENT:

SENATE STAFF PRESENT:

LeeAnne Sharlow, attorney
Carlesia Bibbins, attorney
Brandy Phillips, committee administrative assistant

Sharon Lyles, senior attorney Xavier Alexander, attorney Candace Shields, secretary

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES PRESENT:

Myrtis Jarrell, House sergeant at arms Fay Talbot, House sergeant at arms John Rogers, Senate sergeant at arms

III. DISCUSSION

Final approval of the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Highway Priority Construction Program

Secretary Shawn Wilson, Department of Transportation and Development, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-1200, spoke for information only on the final approval of the 2021-2022 Highway Priority Construction Program and provided a handout, Exhibit A, which is included in the committee records. He stated that there were no changes to the program and asked for committee approval.

Representative Gadberry offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Highway Priority Construction Program. Without objection, the program was approved by a vote of 13 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Pierre, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Gadberry, Horton, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Charles Owen, Robert Owen, and Schamerhorn voted yea.

Senator Ward offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Highway Priority Construction Program. Without objection, the program was approved by a vote of 6 yeas and 0 nays. Senators Ward, Bernard, Peacock, Pope, Price, and Smith voted yea.

Final approval of the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Airport Construction and Development Priority Program

Secretary Shawn Wilson, Department of Transportation and Development, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-1200, spoke for information only and provided brief insight on the slight differences between the priority programs and requested committee approval. He provided a handout, Exhibit B, which is included in the committee records.

Representative Brass offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Airport Construction and Development Priority Program. Without objection, the program was approved by a vote of 14 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Pierre, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Gadberry,

Glover, Horton, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Charles Owen, Robert Owen, and Schamerhorn voted yea.

Senator Bernard offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Airport Construction and Development Priority Program. Without objection, the program was approved by a vote of 6 yeas and 0 nays. Senators Ward, Bernard, Peacock, Pope, Price, and Smith voted yea.

Witness cards provided by individuals that did not speak are as follows: 1 in support. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

Final approval of the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Port Construction and Development Priority Program

Secretary Shawn Wilson, Department of Transportation and Development, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-1200, spoke for information only and asked for committee approval. He provided a handout, Exhibit D, which is included in the committee records.

Representative Freiberg offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Port Construction and Development Priority Program. Without objection, the program was approved by a vote of 14 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Pierre, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Gadberry, Glover, Horton, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Charles Owen, Robert Owen, and Schamerhorn voted yea.

Senator Smith offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Port Construction and Development Priority Program. Without objection, the program was approved by a vote of 6 yeas and 0 nays. Senators Ward, Bernard, Peacock, Pope, Price, and Smith voted yea.

Witness cards provided by individuals that did not speak are as follows: 5 in support and 2 for information only. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

Final approval of the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Statewide Flood Control Priority Program

Secretary Shawn Wilson, Department of Transportation and Development, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 379-1200, spoke for information only and requested committee approval. He provided a handout, Exhibit C, which is included in the committee records.

Representative Brass offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Statewide Flood Control Priority Program. Without objection, the program was approved by a vote of 13 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Pierre, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Gadberry, Horton, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Charles Owen, Robert Owen, and Schamerhorn voted yea.

Senator Price offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2021-2022 Statewide Flood Control Priority Program. Without objection, the program was approved by a vote of 6 yeas and 0 nays. Senators Ward, Bernard, Peacock, Pope, Price, and Smith voted yea.

Witness cards provided by individuals that did not speak are as follows: 2 for information only. Witness cars are included in the committee records.

IV. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Representative C. Travis Johnson made a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 13 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Pierre, Brass, Cormier, Edmonston, Firment, Freiberg, Gadberry, Horton, C. Travis Johnson, Moore, Charles Owen, Robert Owen, and Schamerhorn voted yea.

Senator Ward made a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 6 yeas and 0 nays. Senators Ward, Bernard, Peacock, Pope, Price, and Smith voted yea.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:19 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman Vincent J. Pierre
Joint Committee on Joint Transportation, Highways and Public Works

Date adopted:

The committee has acknowledged on ______, that these minutes were prepared in accordance with the rules of the House of Representatives.