House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works and Senate Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works

Minutes of Joint Meeting 2021-2022 Interim December 9, 2021

I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative Mark Wright, chairman of the House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works, called the meeting to order at 11:40 a.m. in Room 1, in the state capitol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

II. ROLL CALL

HOUSE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Representative Mark Wright, chairman Representative Ken Brass, vice chairman Representative Mack Cormier Representative Barbara Freiberg Representative Foy Gadberry Representative Pat Moore Representative Charles Owen Representative Robert Owen Representative Robert Owen

SENATE MEMBERS PRESENT:

Senator Patrick McMath, chairman Senator Gary Carter, vice chairman Senator Louis Bernard Senator Barrow Peacock Senator J. Rogers Pope Senator Edward J. "Ed" Price

HOUSE STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:

LeeAnne Sharlow, attorney Carlesia Bibbins, attorney Brandy Phillips, committee administrative assistant

HOUSE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Representative Kathy Edmonston Representative Michael Firment Representative Cedric Glover Representative Dodie Horton Representative Vincent Pierre Representative Larry Selders

SENATE MEMBERS ABSENT:

Senator Gary L. Smith, Jr.

SENATE STAFF PRESENT:

Archana Cadge, attorney Leonore Heavy, attorney Crystal Lewis, secretary

ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES PRESENT:

Myrtis Jarrell, House sergeant at arms Louis Carral, Senate sergeant at arms

III. DISCUSSION

<u>Review, receive public input, and approval of the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Port Construction and</u> <u>Development Priority Program</u>

Mr. Eric Kalivoda, DOTD, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, (225) 379-1200, spoke for information only.

Ms. Mary Bourgoyne, office of multimodal commerce, 1201 Capitol Access Road, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, (225) 379-3033, spoke for information only on the final approval of the 2022-2023 Port Construction and Development Priority Program and provided a handout prior to the meeting, Exhibit A, which is included in the committee records.

Representative Brass offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Port Construction and Development Priority Program. Without objection, the program was approved by a vote of 9 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Wright, Brass, Cormier, Freiberg, Gadberry, Moore, Charles Owen, Robert Owen, and Schamerhorn voted yea.

Senator Price offered a motion to approve the Fiscal Year 2022-2023 Port Construction and Development Priority Program. Without objection, the program was approved by a vote of 6 yeas and 0 nays. Senators McMath, Carter, Bernard, Peacock, Pope, and Price voted yea.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 8 in support. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

Approval of the use of Construction Management at Risk (CMAR) for a project under \$15 million for updates to the Parish Courthouse requested by the Lafayette Consolidated Government pursuant to R.S. 38:2225.2.4

Mr. Robert Benoit, Lafayette Consolidated Government, 705 West University Avenue, Lafayette, LA 70506, (337) 291-8011, presented the Construction Management at Risk (CMAR) for a project under \$15 million for updates to the Parish Courthouse requested by the Lafayette Consolidated Government pursuant to R.S. 38:2225.2.4.

Represented Brass offered a motion to approve the CMAR project for updates to the Parish Courthouse requested by the Lafayette Consolidated Government pursuant to R.S. 38:2225.2.4.

Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 9 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Wright, Brass, Cormier, Freiberg, Gadberry, Moore, Charles Owen, Robert Owen, and Schamerhorn voted yea.

Senator Price offered a motion to approve the CMAR project for updates to the Parish Courthouse requested by the Lafayette Consolidated Government pursuant to R.S. 38:2225.2.4. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 6 yeas and 0 nays. Senators McMath, Carter, Bernard, Peacock, Pope, and Price voted yea.

IV. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

VI. ADJOURNMENT

Representative Gadberry offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 9 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Wright, Brass, Cormier, Freiberg, Gadberry, Moore, Charles Owen, Robert Owen, and Schamerhorn voted yea.

Senator Peacock offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 6 yeas and 0 nays. Senators McMath, Carter, Bernard, Peacock, Pope, and Price voted yea.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:48 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman Mark Wright House Committee on Transportation, Highways and Public Works

Date adopted: