#### House Committee on Natural Resources and Environment

# Minutes of Meeting 2024 Third Extraordinary Session November 13, 2024

# I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative Brett F. Geymann, chairman of the House Committee on Natural Resources and Environment, called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. in Room 4, in the state capitol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

## II. ROLL CALL

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Representative Brett F. Geymann, chairman

Representative Marcus Anthony Bryant

Representative R. Dewith Carrier

Representative Tehmi Jahi Chassion

Representative Kimberly Landry Coates

Representative Jason Brian DeWitt

Representative Jessica Domangue

Representative Timothy P. Kerner

Representative Jeremy S. LaCombe

Representative Jacob Jules Gabriel Landry

Representative Shane Mack

Representative Danny McCormick

Representative Joseph A. Orgeron, vice chairman

Representative Lauren Ventrella

Representative Jerome Zeringue

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Representative C. Travis Johnson Representative Neil Riser

#### **STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Robin Stalder, attorney
Jennifer Winkler, legislative analyst
Brandy Ladmirault, committee administrative assistant

#### ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES PRESENT:

Cheryl Domino, sergeant at arms Martin Mapp, sergeant at arms

## III. DISCUSSION OF LEGISLATION

# House Bill No. 23 by Representative Geymann

Representative Geymann presented House Bill No. 23, which provides for the administration of the Oilfield Site Restoration Fund.

Representative Geymann offered amendments to:

- (1) Make technical changes.
- (2) Repeal the Oilfield Site Restoration Commission and transfer the functions of the commission to the Natural Resources Trust Authority.
- (3) Replace references to the commission throughout the Oilfield Site Restoration Law with references to the trust authority instead.
- (4) Decrease the oilfield site restoration fee on gas and change the fee to a graduated one based on gas prices.

Representative Geymann offered a motion to adopt the proposed amendments. Without objection, the amendments were adopted by a vote of 11 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Geymann, Carrier, Dewitt, Domangue, Kerner, LaCombe, Jacob Landry, Mack, McCormick, Orgeron, and Zeringue voted yea.

Dustin H. Davidson, DENR, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 23.

Tyler P. Gray, DENR, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 23.

Blake Canfield, DENR, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 23.

A handout, Exhibit A, was provided and is included in the committee records.

Representative Geymann offered a motion to report House Bill No. 23 with amendments. Without objection, House Bill No. 23 was reported with amendments by a vote of 12 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Geymann, Carrier, Coates, Dewitt, Domangue, Kerner, LaCombe, Jacob Landry, Mack, McCormick, Orgeron, and Ventrella voted yea.

# House Bill No. 24 by Representative Geymann

Representative Geymann presented House Bill No. 24, which provides for the leasing of state property for energy-related purposes.

Dustin H. Davidson, DENR, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 24.

Blake Canfield, DENR, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 24.

Tyler Gray, DENR, 617 North Third Street, Baton Rouge, LA 70802, spoke for information only on House Bill No. 24.

Representative Geymann offered amendments to:

- (1) Add an exception to limit solar energy production leases to 35 acres.
- (2) Make technical changes.

Representative Geymann offered a motion to adopt the proposed amendments. Without objection, the amendments were adopted by a vote of 13 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Geymann, Carrier, Chassion, Coates, Dewitt, Domangue, LaCombe, Jacob Landry, Mack, McCormick, Orgeron, Ventrella, and Zeringue voted yea.

Representative Geymann offered a motion to report House Bill No. 24 with amendments. Without objection, House Bill No. 24 was reported with amendments by a vote of 13 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Geymann, Carrier, Chassion, Coates, Dewitt, Domangue, LaCombe, Jacob Landry, Mack, McCormick, Orgeron, Ventrella, and Zeringue voted yea.

#### IV. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

## V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

# VI. ADJOURNMENT

Representative Jacob Landry offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 13 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Geymann, Carrier, Chassion, Coates, Dewitt, Domangue, LaCombe, Jacob Landry, Mack, McCormick, Orgeron, Ventrella, and Zeringue voted yea.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman Brett F. Geymann House Committee on Natural Resources and Environment

Date adopted: