Yea

Yea

# **ROLL CALL AND RECORD VOTE**

Committee: Civil Law and Procedure

Location: Room 4

Date/Time: 05/20/24 10:00 a.m.

Staff: Allison Alonzo, Attorney Jennifer Nguyen, Attorney Megan Sanders, Committee Administrative Assistant Rebecca Marshall, Sergeant at Arms Michael McCain, Clerk

Roll Call:	13			Convened: 10:13 AM
Number of Members:	16			At Ease: 10:19 AM
Number of Members.	10			Convened: 10:45 AM
Quorum:	9			Adjourned: 11:21 AM
Muscarello, Nicholas		Present		
Brown, Chad			Absent	
Carlson, Josh		Present		
Carter, Sr., Wilford			Absent	
Chenevert, Emily		Present		
Edmonston, Kathy		Present		
Egan, Sr., Peter F.		Present		
Glorioso, Brian Leonard		Present		
Johnson, Mike		Present		
Larvadain, III, Ed		Present		
Melerine, Michael		Present		
Taylor, Sylvia Elaine		Present		
Turner, Christopher		Present		
Ventrella, Lauren		Present		
Wright, Mark			Absent	
Wyble, John E.		Present		

### SB78 by MORRIS

Constitutional amendment to authorize the legislature, by law, to establish additional courts enacted by a two-thirds vote. (2/3 - CA12s1(A))

Amendment:	HCASB78 4747 4408		
Motion made by:	Muscarello, Nicholas		
AMD Motion:	Adopt		
Vote:	10-0-1	Muscarello, Nicholas	Abstain
Vote Date:	5/20/2024 10:47:33 AM	Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily Edmonston, Kathy Egan, Sr., Peter F. Glorioso, Brian Leonard Johnson, Mike Larvadain, III, Ed	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
		Taylor, Sylvia Elaine	rea

Turner, Christopher

Wyble, John E.

Motion made by	: Muscarello, Nicholas		
Motion:	Adopt Rule 6.8(A) Report		
Vote:	9-2-1	Muscarello, Nicholas	Abstain
Vote Date:	5/20/2024 10:53:41 AM	Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily	Yea Yea
Objection by:	Taylor, Sylvia Elaine	Edmonston, Kathy	Yea
. ,	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,	Egan, Sr., Peter F.	Yea
		Glorioso, Brian Leonard	Yea
		Johnson, Mike	Yea
		Larvadain, III, Ed	Nay
		Melerine, Michael	Yea
		Taylor, Sylvia Elaine	Nay
		Turner, Christopher	Yea
		Wyble, John E.	Yea

#### SB78 by MORRIS

Constitutional amendment to authorize the legislature, by law, to establish additional courts enacted by a two-thirds vote. (2/3 - CA12s1(A))

Motion made by:	Muscarello, Nicholas
-----------------	----------------------

Motion:	With Amendments		
Vote:	11-0-1	Muscarello, Nicholas	Abstain
Vote Date: 5/	5/20/2024 10:53:55 AM	Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily Edmonston, Kathy Egan, Sr., Peter F.	Yea Yea Yea Yea
		Glorioso, Brian Leonard Johnson, Mike Larvadain, III, Ed	Yea Yea Yea
		Melerine, Michael Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Turner, Christopher Wyble, John E.	Yea Yea Yea Yea

### SB78 by MORRIS

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (11-0-1)

### SB84 by SEABAUGH

Provides for motion for judgment on offer of judgment. (8/1/24)

Amendment:	HCASB84 4469 4843		
Motion made by:	Melerine, Michael		
AMD Motion:	Adopt		
Vote:	9-0-1	Muscarello, Nicholas	Abstain
Vote Date:	5/20/2024 10:18:13 AM	Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily Edmonston, Kathy	Yea Yea Yea

Egan, Sr., Peter F.

Larvadain, III, Ed

Johnson, Mike

Wyble, John E.

Yea

Yea

Yea

Yea

		Melerine, Michael Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Wyble, John E.	Yea Yea Yea	
Motion made by:	Melerine, Michael			
Motion:	With Amendments			
Vote:	9-0-1	Muscarello, Nicholas	Abstain	
Vote Date:	5/20/2024 10:18:49 AM	Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily Edmonston, Kathy Egan, Sr., Peter F. Johnson, Mike Larvadain, III, Ed Melerine, Michael Taylor, Sylvia Elaine	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea	

#### SB84 by SEABAUGH

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (9-0-1)

# SB130 by BASS

Provides for limita	tion upon jury trials. (1/1/25)		
Amendment:	HCASB130 4469 4715		
Motion made by:	Muscarello, Nicholas		
AMD Motion:	Adopt		
Vote: Vote Date: Objection by:	8-5 5/20/2024 11:12:39 AM Melerine, Michael	Muscarello, Nicholas Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily Edmonston, Kathy Egan, Sr., Peter F. Glorioso, Brian Leonard Johnson, Mike Larvadain, III, Ed Melerine, Michael Taylor, Sylvia Elaine	Yea Nay Nay Yea Yea Yea Yea Nay Nay
Motion made by: Motion:	Johnson, Mike With Amendments	Turner, Christopher Ventrella, Lauren Wyble, John E.	Nay Yea Yea
Vote: Vote Date: Objection by:	10-2-1 5/20/2024 11:20:43 AM Larvadain, III, Ed	Muscarello, Nicholas Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily Edmonston, Kathy Egan, Sr., Peter F. Glorioso, Brian Leonard Johnson, Mike Larvadain, III, Ed Melerine, Michael Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Turner, Christopher Ventrella, Lauren Wyble, John E.	Abstain Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Nay Yea Nay Yea Yea Yea Yea

### SB130 by BASS

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (10-2-1)

### SB177 by MORRIS

Constitutional amendment to increase the non-lawyer membership of and provide for the selection judiciary commission members and to require investigations be conducted by directive of the supreme court. (2/3 - CA13s1(A))

Amendment:	HCASB177 4469 4409		
Motion made by:	Muscarello, Nicholas		
AMD Motion:	Adopt		
Vote:	10-0-1	Muscarello, Nicholas	Abstain
Vote Date:	5/20/2024 10:56:05 AM	Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily Edmonston, Kathy Egan, Sr., Peter F. Glorioso, Brian Leonard Larvadain, III, Ed Melerine, Michael Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Turner, Christopher Wyble, John E.	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea

Yea

Yea

Yea

Abstain

Yea

Yea

Yea

Yea

Yea

Yea

Yea

Yea

#### SB177 by MORRIS

Constitutional amendment to increase the non-lawyer membership of and provide for the selection judiciary commission members and to require investigations be conducted by directive of the supreme court. (2/3 - CA13s1(A))

Motion made by:	Edmonston, Kathy		
Motion:	Adopt Rule 6.8(A) Report		
Vote: Vote Date:	11-0-1 5/20/2024 11:02:02 AM	Muscarello, Nicholas Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily Edmonston, Kathy Egan, Sr., Peter F. Glorioso, Brian Leonard Johnson, Mike Larvadain, III, Ed Melerine, Michael Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Turner, Christopher Wyble, John E.	Abstain Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
Motion made by:	Edmonston, Kathy		
Motion:	With Amendments		
Vote:	11-0-1	Muscarello, Nicholas	Abstain
Vote Date:	5/20/2024 11:02:24 AM	Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily Edmonston, Kathy Egan, Sr., Peter F. Glorioso, Brian Leonard Johnson, Mike Larvadain, III, Ed Melerine, Michael	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea

Taylor, Sylvia Elaine

Turner, Christopher

Wyble, John E.

Larvadain, III, Ed

Melerine, Michael

Wyble, John E.

Taylor, Sylvia Elaine

#### SB177 by MORRIS

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (11-0-1)

## SB185 by SEABAUGH

Provides for legislative continuances or extensions. (8/1/24)

Motion made by:	Johnson, Mike	
Motion:	Favorably	
Vote: Vote Date:	8-0-1 5/20/2024 10:16:37 AM	Muscarello, Nicholas Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily
		Egan, Sr., Peter F. Johnson, Mike

#### SB185 by SEABAUGH

Final Action: Reported favorably. (8-0-1)

## SB483 by MORRIS

Provides relative to attorney service contracts. (8/1/24)

Motion:	Defer Voluntary		
Vote:	11-0-1	Muscarello, Nicholas	Abstain
Vote Date:	5/20/2024 11:02:35 AM	Carlson, Josh Chenevert, Emily Edmonston, Kathy Egan, Sr., Peter F. Glorioso, Brian Leonard Johnson, Mike Larvadain, III, Ed Melerine, Michael Taylor, Sylvia Elaine Turner, Christopher Wyble, John E.	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea

### SB483 by MORRIS

Final Action: Defer Voluntary. (11-0-1)