ROLL CALL AND RECORD VOTE

Committee	: House and Governmental Affairs	
Location:	Room 5	Sta

18

18

10

Date/Time: 02/16/22 9:30 a.m.

Roll Call:

Quorum:

Number of Members:

Staff:	Patricia Lowrey-Dufour, Legislative Analyst Lorrianne Lucas, Attorney Rosalie Ammersbach, Committee Administrative Assistant John Harrington, Clerk Clarence Russ, Sergeant at Arms Danny Leming, Sergeant at Arms Keshauna Murphy, Sergeant at Arms Myrtis Jarrell, Sergeant at Arms
	Faye Talbot, Sergeant at Arms

Convened: 09:30 AM Adjourned: 01:11 PM

Stefanski, John M.	Present
Duplessis, Royce	Present
Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"	Present
Carter, Sr., Wilford	Present
Deshotel, Daryl Andrew	Present
Farnum, Les	Present
Gadberry, Foy Bryan	Present
Hodges, Valarie	Present
Horton, Dodie	Present
Ivey, Barry	Present
Jenkins, Sam	Present
Johnson, Mike	Present
LaCombe, Jeremy	Present
Lyons, Rodney	Present
Magee, Tanner	Present
Newell, Candace N.	Present
Thomas, Polly	Present
White, Malinda	Present

HB10 by WILFORD CARTER

(Constitutional Amendment) Increases the number of associate supreme court justices and increases the required number of justices concurring in order to render judgment (Item #6)

Motion made by: Carter, Sr., Wilford

Motion:	Defer Voluntary		
Vote:	13-0	Duplessis, Royce	Yea
Vote Date:	2/16/2022 10:07:01 AM	Carter, Sr., Wilford Farnum, Les Gadberry, Foy Bryan Hodges, Valarie Horton, Dodie Ivey, Barry Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Mike Lyons, Rodney	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
		Newell, Candace N. Thomas, Polly	Yea Yea
		White, Malinda	Yea

HB10 by WILFORD CARTER

Final Action: Defer Voluntary. (13-0)

HB13 by WILFORD CARTER

(Constitutional Amendment) Provides that the supreme court shall be composed of nine justices (Item #6)

Motion made by: Motion:	Carter, Sr., Wilford Favorably		
Vote: Vote Date: Objection by:	6-7 2/16/2022 10:19:06 AM Horton, Dodie	Duplessis, Royce Carter, Sr., Wilford Deshotel, Daryl Andrew Farnum, Les Gadberry, Foy Bryan Hodges, Valarie Horton, Dodie Ivey, Barry Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Mike Lyons, Rodney Newell, Candace N. Thomas, Polly	Yea Yea Nay Nay Nay Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea

HB13 by WILFORD CARTER

HB17 by WILFORD CARTER

Provides for nine election districts for the election of justices to the supreme court (Item #6)

Motion made by:	Carter, Sr., Wilford		
Motion:	Defer Voluntary		
Vote:	15-0	Duplessis, Royce	Yea
Vote Date:	2/16/2022 10:20:47 AM	Carter, Sr., Wilford Deshotel, Daryl Andrew Farnum, Les Gadberry, Foy Bryan Hodges, Valarie Horton, Dodie Ivey, Barry Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Mike LaCombe, Jeremy Lyons, Rodney Newell, Candace N. Thomas, Polly	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
		White, Malinda	Yea

HB17 by WILFORD CARTER

Final Action: Defer Voluntary. (15-0)

HB18 by WILFORD CARTER

Provides for the redistricting of the supreme court (Item #6)

Motion made by:	Duplessis, Royce		
Motion:	Favorably		
Vote:	9-7-1	Stefanski, John M.	Abstain
Vote Date:	2/16/2022 10:44:28 AM	Duplessis, RoyceYeaBeaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"NayCarter, Sr., WilfordYeaDeshotel, Daryl AndrewYeaFarnum, LesNay	
Objection by:	Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau		Yea
		Gadberry, Foy Bryan Hodges, Valarie Horton, Dodie Ivey, Barry Jenkins, Sam	Nay Nay Nay Yea Yea

Johnson, Mike

Lyons, Rodney

Thomas, Polly

White, Malinda

LaCombe, Jeremy

Newell, Candace N.

Nay

Yea

Yea

Yea

Nay

Yea

HB18 by WILFORD CARTER

Final Action: Reported favorably. (9-7-1)

HB20 by WILFORD CARTER

Provides for the redistricting of the supreme court (Item #6)

Motion made by:	Duplessis, Royce		
Motion:	Favorably		
Motion: Vote: Vote Date: Objection by:	Favorably 8-7-1 2/16/2022 10:51:41 AM Horton, Dodie	Stefanski, John M. Duplessis, Royce Carter, Sr., Wilford Deshotel, Daryl Andrew Farnum, Les Gadberry, Foy Bryan Horton, Dodie Ivey, Barry Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Mike LaCombe, Jeremy Lyons, Rodney	Abstain Yea Nay Nay Nay Nay Yea Yea Nay Yea Yea Yea
		Magee, Tanner Newell, Candace N. Thomas, Polly	Nay Yea Nay
		White, Malinda	Yea

HB20 by WILFORD CARTER

Final Action: Reported favorably. (8-7-1)

HB23 by GLOVER

Provides for the districts for the election of members to the House of Representatives (Item #1)

No Vote Taken

Motion made by:	Newell, Candace N.
Motion:	Favorably
Vote Date:	2/16/2022 12:54:07 PM

Objection by: Stefanski, John M.

Substitute

Motion made by:	Stefanski, John M.		
Motion:	Defer Voluntary		
Vote: Vote Date:	10-7 2/16/2022 12:54:56 PM	Stefanski, John M. Duplessis, Royce Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau" Carter, Sr., Wilford Deshotel, Daryl Andrew Farnum, Les Gadberry, Foy Bryan	Yea Nay Yea Nay Yea Yea Yea
		Hodges, Valarie Horton, Dodie Ivey, Barry Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Mike Lyons, Rodney Magee, Tanner Newell, Candace N. Thomas, Polly White, Malinda	Yea Yea Nay Yea Nay Yea Nay Yea Nay

HB24 by GLOVER

Provides for the districts for the election of members to the House of Representatives (Item #1)

No Vote Taken

Motion made by:	Duplessis, Royce
Motion:	Favorably
Vote Date:	2/16/2022 1:08:49 PM

Objection by: Stefanski, John M.

Substitute

Motion made by:	Stefanski, John M.
Motion:	Defer Voluntary
Vote:	9-7
Vote Date:	2/16/2022 1:09:39 PM

Stefanski, John M.	Yea
Duplessis, Royce	Nay
Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau"	Yea
Carter, Sr., Wilford	Nay
Farnum, Les	Yea
Gadberry, Foy Bryan	Yea
Hodges, Valarie	Yea
Horton, Dodie	Yea
Jenkins, Sam	Nay
Johnson, Mike	Yea
LaCombe, Jeremy	Nay
Lyons, Rodney	Nay
Magee, Tanner	Yea
Newell, Candace N.	Nay
Thomas, Polly	Yea
White, Malinda	Nay

HB24 by GLOVER

Final Action: Defer Voluntary. (9-7)

SB1 by CORTEZ

Provides for the redistricting of the Louisiana Senate. (Item #2)

Motion made by:	Stefanski, John M.		
Motion:	Favorably		
Wotion: Vote: Vote Date: Objection by:	9-5 2/16/2022 10:05:01 AM	Stefanski, John M. Duplessis, Royce Carter, Sr., Wilford Farnum, Les Gadberry, Foy Bryan Hodges, Valarie Horton, Dodie Ivey, Barry Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Mike	Yea Nay Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Nay Yea
		Lyons, Rodney Newell, Candace N. Thomas, Polly White, Malinda	Nay Nay Yea Yea

SB1 by CORTEZ

Final Action: Reported favorably. (9-5)

SB15 by HEWITT Provides for redistricting of the Supreme Court. (2/3 - CA5s4) (Item #6)

Amendment:	HCASB15 362 140		
Motion made by:	Stefanski, John M.		
AMD Motion:	Adopt		
	16-0 2/16/2022 10:58:50 AM	Stefanski, John M. Duplessis, Royce Carter, Sr., Wilford Deshotel, Daryl Andrew Farnum, Les Gadberry, Foy Bryan	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
		Hodges, Valarie Horton, Dodie Ivey, Barry Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Mike	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
		LaCombe, Jeremy Lyons, Rodney Magee, Tanner Newell, Candace N. Thomas, Polly	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea

Motion:	With Amendments		
Motion: Vote: Vote Date:	With Amendments 15-0 2/16/2022 11:52:53 AM	Stefanski, John M. Duplessis, Royce Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau" Carter, Sr., Wilford Farnum, Les Gadberry, Foy Bryan Hodges, Valarie Horton, Dodie Ivey, Barry Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Mike LaCombe, Jeremy Lyons, Rodney	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea
		Thomas, Polly White, Malinda	Yea Yea

SB15 by HEWITT

Final Action: Reported with amendments. (15-0)

Motion made by: Motion:	Carter, Sr., Wilford Adjourn		
Vote:	16-0	Stefanski, John M.	Yea
Vote Date:	2/16/2022 1:11:21 PM	Duplessis, Royce Beaullieu, IV, Gerald "Beau" Carter, Sr., Wilford Farnum, Les Gadberry, Foy Bryan Hodges, Valarie Horton, Dodie Jenkins, Sam Johnson, Mike LaCombe, Jeremy Lyons, Rodney Magee, Tanner Newell, Candace N. Thomas, Polly White, Malinda	Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea Yea