

NEWS RELEASE

For Immediate Release

Contact: Sheila McCant

LA House of Representatives Office of Public Information Phone: (225) 342-9795

DATE: March 31, 2010

SPEAKER ANNOUNCES COMMITTEE ASSIGNMENTS/CHANGES

Speaker Jim Tucker announced a number of changes in committee memberships today saying, "These changes are due to several factors including the untimely death of Avon Honey, the election of Karen Carter Peterson to the state Senate, and the election of Joel Robideaux to the position of speaker pro tempore."

Nick Lorusso - Appointed to the House & Governmental Affairs Committee which requires removal from the House Committee on the Administration of Criminal Justice.

Noble Ellington - Appointed to the House Insurance Committee and removed from the House & Governmental Affairs Committee.

Rosalind Jones - Appointed to the House Appropriations Committee which requires removal from the House Commerce Committee.

John LaBruzzo - Appointed to the House Civil Law & Procedure Committee and removed from the House Appropriations Committee.

Charmaine Stiaes - Appointed to the Administration of Criminal Justice Committee and removed from the House & Governmental Affairs Committee.

John Schroder - Appointed to the House Civil Law & Procedure Committee and removed from the House Appropriations Committee.

Kevin Pearson - Appointed to serve as chairman of the House Retirement Committee which requires removal from the House Appropriations Committee.

Neil Abramson - Removed from the Legislative Audit Advisory Council.

Cameron Henry - Appointed to the Legislative Audit Advisory Council.

James Armes - Appointed to the House Appropriations Committee which requires removal from the House Transportation, Highways & Public Works Committee.

Nancy Landry - Appointed to the House & Governmental Affairs Committee which requires removal from the House Natural Resources & Environmental Committee.

All changes are effective immediately.