## NEWS RELEASE



For Immediate Release

Contact: Cory Stewart LA House of Representatives Office of Public Information Phone: (225) 342-9795 Fax: (225) 219-4380

DATE: July 9, 2012

## SPEAKER KLECKLEY ANNOUNCES APPOINTMENTS TO TAX INCENTIVES REVIEW COMMISSION

House Speaker Kleckley has appointed four members of the Louisiana House of Representatives to serve on the newly created commission to review Louisiana tax incentives.

The commission was created by Senate Concurrent Resolution 103 of the 2012 Regular Session and is charged with determining the best formula for measuring an incentive's economic impact. The commission must also identify the low-performing or antiquated tax preference expenditures and recommend the temporary or permanent reduction or elimination of such tax exemptions, suspensions, exclusions, deductions, credits, refunds, rebates, and preferential tax calculation methods.

In making the appointments, Kleckley said, "I'm very excited about working with the other commission members to flush out low-performing and obsolete tax incentives by exploring their economic impact and value to those affected by them." The House members of the commission are:

- Speaker Chuck Kleckley- R (Lake Charles)
- Chairman of House Appropriations Jim Fannin D (Jonesboro)
- Chairman of House Ways & Means Joel Robideaux R (Lafayette)
- Speaker Pro Tempore Walt Leger, III D (New Orleans)
- **Representative Patrick Williams D** (*Shreveport*)
- Representative Henry Burns R (Bossier)
- Representative Taylor Barras R (New Iberia)

"All of these members hold the qualifications, background, and willingness to serve the state of Louisiana in this capacity. Collectively, we share the ultimate goal of making government work more effectively and efficiently for the people of our state," added Kleckley.

Under the legislation, the chairman of the Senate finance committee is required to call the first meeting of the commission which must convene no later than September 1, 2012, and report to the Senate President and the House Speaker no later than February 1, 2013.

###