

NEWS RELEASE

Contact:

For Immediate Release

tact: Sheila McCant LA House of Representatives Office of Public Information Phone: (225) 342-9795 Fax: (225) 219-4380

DATE: December 21, 2007

TUCKER ANNOUNCES LEADERSHIP TEAM

Announcing his choice for committee chair and vice chair positions, state Rep. Jim Tucker today said he, "looked first for experience and talent in determining selections. I was fortunate to have a wealth of talent to choose from for these chairmanships and vice chairmanships."

Tucker also said he was pleased with the geographical, political and racial balance of "this very talented team of leaders." Of the 16 chairmen, eight are Republican, seven Democratic, and one Independent. Geographically, four chairmen hail from north Louisiana, three from New Orleans, three from southwest Louisiana, two from Baton Rouge, and three from south Louisiana. The northshore is also represented, with one chairmanship.

One committee change was also made. The House Natural Resources Committee will assume the responsibilities and jurisdiction over the subject matter currently referred to the Environment Committee. Tucker cited the decrease in the Environment Committee's workload in the past several years for his decision to merge the two committees.

Tucker also said he is supporting Karen Carter in her bid for Speaker Pro-Tempore. "Karen has been an outstanding leader and will do a tremendous job as pro-tem," Tucker said. The list of appointments follows. The remaining committee assignments will be released in January.

##

House Chairmen & Vice Chairmen

Appropriations

Jim Fannin, Chairman Eddie Lambert, Vice Chairman

Ways and Means Hunter Greene, Chairman Jane Smith, Vice Chairwoman

Commerce

Jeff Arnold, Chairman Wayne Waddell, Vice Chairman

Transportation

Nita Hutter, Chairwoman Hollis Downs, Vice Chairman

Education

Don Trahan, Chairman Austin Badon, Vice Chairman

Civil Law

Tim Burns, Chairman Nick Lorusso, Vice Chairman

Administration of Criminal Justice

Ernest Wooton, Chairman Damon Baldone, Vice Chairman

Health and Welfare

Kay Katz, Chairwoman John LaBruzzo, Vice Chairman

House and Governmental Affairs

Rick Gallot, Chairman Mert Smiley, Vice Chairman

Insurance

Chuck Kleckley, Chairman Tom McVea, Vice Chairman

Natural Resources and Environment

Gordon Dove, Chairman Karen St. Germain, Vice Chairwoman

Agriculture

Andy Anders, Chairman Harold Ritchie, Vice Chairman

Judiciary

Cedric Richmond, Chairman Neil Abramson, Vice Chairman

Labor and Industrial Relations

Avon Honey, Chairman Erich Ponti, Vice Chairman

Municipal and Parochial Affairs

J.P. Morrell, Chairman Regina Barrow, Vice Chairwoman

Retirement

Joel Robideaux, Chairman Jean Doerge, Vice Chairwoman