

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Tuesday, December 18, 2007 www.lrld.louisiana.gov Contact: Senator-Elect Danny Martiny Representative Jane Smith 225.342.6287

REPUBLICAN DELEGATION ANNOUNCES NEW LEADERSHIP FOR THE 2008-2012 TERM

BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA—Representative Jane Smith, Bossier City, and Senator-Elect Danny Martiny, Kenner, have been chosen by their Republican colleagues in the Louisiana Legislature to serve as the leaders of the Republican Delegation for the 2008-2012 legislative term.

Recently re-elected to serve her third term in the Legislature, Representative Smith is the first female to chair either chamber of the Delegation. The north Louisiana legislator and former Superintendent of Bossier Parish Schools has been a vocal member of the committee on Ways and Means, calling for the repeal of taxes on working families and small businesses. Representative Smith has also served on the committee of the Administration of Criminal Justice having advocated for stronger law enforcement and legislation for victim's rights.

Representative Smith commented, "I look forward to working closely with the other 49 Republican legislators in the House to move our conservative agenda forward in this next term. We have a unique opportunity to make many reforms which are much needed in our state."

Senator-Elect Martiny looks to lead the Senate Republicans after serving thirteen years in the House of Representatives where he chaired the Administration of Criminal Justice Committee under Governors Foster and Blanco. A strong voice for the indigent in the state, Senator-Elect Martiny is the 2007 recipient of the Louisiana State Bar Association's President's Award for his work in the criminal indigent defense system.

"I am honored to have been chosen by my peers in the Senate to lead the Delegation on their behalf," remarked Senator-Elect Martiny.

The Republican Delegation has its strongest presence yet in the Louisiana Legislature with 66 total combined members. Republicans comprise 50 members in the House of Representatives and 16 members in the Senate—both historical highs since the Delegation's inception in 1984.